Gen 4 cells in a Gen 2

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by TampaPrius.com, Jan 16, 2017.

  1. heltonsc

    heltonsc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    42
    16
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    i have 2 bad blocks in my gen 3, can i replace only these with a pair of new gen 4 cells? here in Brazil it’s very rare gen 3 parts
     

    Attached Files:

  2. heltonsc

    heltonsc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    42
    16
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    i have 2 bad blocks in my gen 3, can i replace only these with a pair of new gen 4 cells? here in Brazil it’s very rare gen 3 parts
    upload_2021-3-21_17-13-48.png
     
  3. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,692
    11,273
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You COULOD replace them with Gen 4 NiMH modules but in the US, most Gen 4s use Li-Ion which would not work.

    It is not usually recommended to mix different ages of modules in the same pack.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  4. heltonsc

    heltonsc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    42
    16
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Here in Brazil all gen 4 and hybrid corolla (2020 and 2021) are NiMh.

    Can I mix gen 4 cells in gen 3?
     
  5. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,692
    11,273
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You can do that but you really should balance the pack too.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  6. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    9,725
    11,897
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    As @Prodigyplace has said, you can mix them, but it's not a good match because of the extreme difference in age. You can balance them with a grid charger (likely hard to get in Brazil) or with hobby chargers which takes longer. But soon, you'll be taking apart the battery again and looking for more replacement parts. If you can find a wrecked Gen 3 or Gen 4 with a NiMH battery, I'd recommend taking all the battery blocks from that one and putting them into your Gen 2 battery case. There are several threads here that talk about doing that.
     
    #86 jerrymildred, Mar 22, 2021
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2021
    donbright likes this.
  7. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,692
    11,273
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    He means a grid charger like that sold by Hybrid Automotive.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  8. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    9,725
    11,897
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Thanks! I spotted your great catch in time to go back & fix my typo. (y)(y)(y)
     
  9. heltonsc

    heltonsc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    42
    16
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    [​IMG]


    I found these corolla batteries, with only 2000 miles. I think they are the same as in Gen 4. Would it be possible to rebuild my gen 3 with these?
     
  10. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,692
    11,273
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I know somebody has put Prius Hen 4 modules in a Gen 2 Prius. I have not heard of anyone trying Corolla modules.
     
    jerrymildred and heltonsc like this.
  11. heltonsc

    heltonsc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    42
    16
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    the Brazilian corolla 2020/21 use gen4 NimH battery cells
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Disassembling the cells of Brazilian Hybrid corolla (2020) in my house today

    the donator car is only 2000 miles
     
    #91 heltonsc, Mar 23, 2021
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2021
  12. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,692
    11,273
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Does it have the same number of modules? By the way each sealed module is composed of several cells.
     
  13. heltonsc

    heltonsc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    42
    16
    0
    Location:
    brazil
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    yes, it has 28 modules. each measuring 7.61v
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  14. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,148
    4,548
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    The 28 modules from that Corolla battery will work PERFECT in your car's battery case. Just make sure you install them with the 2013 polarity order. That updated pack is going to make you very happy. Also make sure you torque all the fasteners correctly.
     
  15. richiemoe2

    richiemoe2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    14
    1
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My 2006 Gen 2 Prius is running fine with the NiMH Gen 4 2016 cells! Just make sure you watch how you take the cells out in your Gen 2. Gen 2 are opposite of Gen 4 NiMH, meaning one starts Neg on left, the other starts Pos on left....
     
  16. dingaling007

    dingaling007 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    15
    6
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    i-Tech
    Does any body have a part number for the gen4 Nimh HV battery? the only one i saw so far is G9280-47200 but that doesnt seem valid on toyodiy or partsouq.
     
  17. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,148
    4,548
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    try G9510-47130

    The packs that I've built (with several installed in fellow forum members cars) have been completely successful. If anyone has the unfortunate need to replace or rebuild a pack, but has access to a recent good condition/low mile Gen 4 pack for modules, they're going to be very happy with the results. I highly recommend purchasing and installing a new 'wire frame #2' harness also. Any additional 'improvement' in performance (compared to the old pack) is likely due to the new modules being able to provide slightly longer period of high current during acceleration. Not necessarily because they're Gen4, but because they are relatively new. The performance is going to pretty much on par with purchasing a new battery pack from Toyota.
     
    #97 TMR-JWAP, Jun 11, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2021
  18. dingaling007

    dingaling007 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    15
    6
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    i-Tech
    Many thanks TMR-JWAP, I take it the 'wire frame #2' is for the Gen2 Battery when i rebuild it with the gen4 cells?

    And that makes sense regarding performance (new cells as opposed to unconfirmed higher performance nimh in gen4)
     
  19. dingaling007

    dingaling007 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    15
    6
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    i-Tech
    Update: Ok I see the wire frame #2 has new bus bars. (if I am understanding things right) I have a new set of nickel coated busbars I've been meaning to use, so I should be ok to swap those over.
     
  20. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,148
    4,548
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    The wire frame #2 also has a very important piece, which is an entirely new sensor harness and plug for the ecu. Very very very often, the sensor tabs are damaged during a rebuild and get small cracks in the crimps where the wire is attached to the tab. This leads to ghost faults and RTOD issues. I've found it's much easier to just pay $60 bucks for a new one instead of investing a lot of time and effort trying to clean/repair used ones. Especially if there was any corrosion at all at the ecu connector..
     
    donbright likes this.
Loading...