Gen 4 Infotainment re-booting itself while driving?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by aprilfva, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. aprilfva

    aprilfva Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    1
    4
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    My first post here (mostly I read and learn!) I've had my 2016 Prius Four Touring for about 3 weeks now and this last weekend, my husband and I drove from San Diego to Phoenix for Spring Training (Padres and Mariners). On the way back, for the first time (of many), while listening to my husband's Samsung phone streaming audio, the whole infotainment system crashed and rebooted. At first I was afraid the car was going to suddenly quit on us but it kept driving. It seemed to just be the navigation/audio/phone/charging system that rebooted. After this happened, it continued to do it quite a few more times (I quit counting after 5). It did it when my iPhone 6s was streaming audio and it did it when the XM radio was on. I do not have Entune (which is the app for your phone, as near as I can tell...forgive my ignorance). I read online that people often have problems with Entune so I have not yet downloaded it to my iPhone. I am calling the Toyota dealership tomorrow and will keep the group posted on what happens. (But if anyone has advice for when I call the dealership, I am open to suggestions).
     
  2. 'LectroFuel

    'LectroFuel Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    880
    668
    0
    Location:
    San Juan Capistrano, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    That seems unusual; I hope Entune doesn't turn into MyFord Touch :(
     
  3. PeterKG

    PeterKG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    62
    79
    0
    Location:
    Playa Vista, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Let us know what you learn. Mine has also rebooted about three times now at startup of the car. Everything is fine afterward. I've never had this happen with all my previous Prius cars.
     
  4. glennonrp

    glennonrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    176
    197
    0
    Location:
    Fontana, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I've had a couple instances where I noticed Entune rebooting at startup, too.
     
  5. ucla107

    ucla107 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    98
    105
    3
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    It happened to me once... Haven't done it since


    iPhone ?
     
  6. I'mJp

    I'mJp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    627
    540
    0
    Location:
    Ma, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    Three
    It could have been firmware updates.
     
    glennonrp likes this.
  7. glennonrp

    glennonrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    176
    197
    0
    Location:
    Fontana, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Are you speculating or do you know that's what happens?

    I don't mean to be argumentative. I'm just wondering. It would be a relief to know that is normal and not a malfunction.
     
    #7 glennonrp, Apr 12, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
  8. I'mJp

    I'mJp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    627
    540
    0
    Location:
    Ma, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    Three
    Not argumentative at all.

    When I allowed en-tune to connect, after a while, it did a firmware update. When finished, my console re-booted.

    En-tune connects automatically mostly, it would not surprise me if another update occurred some time in the future.

    jp
     
    glennonrp likes this.
  9. Jope

    Jope Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    14
    7
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Mine had the same rebooting issue but long after the firmware update. To my techie brain I don't think these are firmware reboots as it happens after driving the car for a while. Fortunately/unfortunately, the issue hasn't happened in a couple months so I don't know what the actual cause was.
     
  10. glennonrp

    glennonrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    176
    197
    0
    Location:
    Fontana, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Mine is rebooting on startup from time to time. Not everyday. It did it a couple days ago, though.


    iPhone ?
     
  11. kitkit201

    kitkit201 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    136
    88
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hello

    I have a Prius 4th gen 4 with the ATP package. Every now and then, my headunit would reboot when i'm riding over a bump. It happens once in a blue moon, but I was wondering if anyone experienced this yet? I had it happen on a few occassions already and thinking of bringing it into my dealership to have them take a look at it.
     
  12. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    88,133
    39,315
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i think i've seen more than one thread about this. not sure if it was resolved.
     
  13. kitkit201

    kitkit201 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    136
    88
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Looks like the mods merged mine with this one. I was gonna try to copy the contents out of the memory card (micro SD) onto another one with a faster write and read rate to see if that helps any.
     
  14. dpbsmith4

    dpbsmith4 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    49
    21
    2
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I have noticed a few reboots after startup. I wasn't absolutely sure that's what I was seeing. Now I'm both relieved that it's happening to others and worrying that it's happening. I didn't notice any particular ill effects except for delaying access to the NAV system for half a minute or so.
     
  15. JMFB

    JMFB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    22
    7
    0
    Location:
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I posted about this prior and I am relieved to see others posting about it now. Mine reboots and all it changes is my map settings and it erases my voice command training, which is really annoying to have to do that again. The voice command system is a learning system and for it to erase that, really sucks. I took mine into a Toyota dealership and they could not duplicate the problem (of course) and they said that there are no known reports from Toyota about the problem. Hopefully a fix will be coming soon since others seem to have the same problem.
     
  16. helmkera

    helmkera Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    51
    9
    0
    Location:
    Sandwich, Illinois
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I have never seen the problem (so far). I picked up my Prius Four with ATP a few weeks ago and use my iPhone 6s with Entune loaded.
     
  17. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    5,930
    6,508
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  18. JMFB

    JMFB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    22
    7
    0
    Location:
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    HAs anyone in this thread had success with a dealership being able to fix the annoying reboot problem? Mine has been doing it more frequently lately.
     
  19. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    5,930
    6,508
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Did you see the post I made a week ago re LEXUS having similar problems - a report on BBC News:

    "Faulty update breaks Lexus cars' maps and radio systems"

    Faulty update breaks Lexus cars' maps and radio systems - BBC News
     
  20. helmkera

    helmkera Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    51
    9
    0
    Location:
    Sandwich, Illinois
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    The reboot problem you are seeing must be dependent on the specifics of your car, phone, and nav/entertainment system. There are a lot of us not seeing the reboot problem. In fact I was just prompted last week about installing an update (second one since I bought the car) and am still running without issues.
     
Loading...