Gen II Prius Individual Battery Module Replacement

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by ryousideways, Apr 24, 2013.

  1. 2k1Toaster

    2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    5,539
    3,077
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    We don't do split payments in general. But if you email us, use the contact form, I can send you a custom PO for 2 things and pay that way.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  2. MichaelN77

    MichaelN77 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    33
    2
    0
    Location:
    Neptune, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Oh you actually work there. I already have over the weekend. My email address is pretty much the same as my screen name on here and Thank You.
     
  3. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    6,786
    8,820
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    He doesn’t just work there, he is the owner;).
     
    Skibob and Prodigyplace like this.
  4. George W

    George W Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    236
    110
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I prefer the nylon pry tools because you are prying on plastic parts.
     
  5. 2k1Toaster

    2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    5,539
    3,077
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I don't think I see anything from someone that has your similar name/email. Email us directly at [email protected]

    We get A LOT of inquiries all the time.
     
  6. MichaelN77

    MichaelN77 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    33
    2
    0
    Location:
    Neptune, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    So in the mean time while I get this sorted I have been driving it normally off the highway. The fan is always running while I am driving. The battery is not going to explode or something, right?
     
  7. 2k1Toaster

    2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    5,539
    3,077
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Well... Yeah it actually might.

    78820_Prius_Battery_Damage.jpg

    But generally you have some time after it first throwing a code to when it death spirals. Weeks usually. Sometimes months. The car has told you it is dead but you can give it amnesia by clearing the codes and keep going. The next time it tells you, by throwing a code, it is worse than before. And so on. Ignore it long enough and it will eventually strand you at the side of the road best case. Worst case damage the battery enclosure, ECUs, or the entire car. All of which are money.
     
    rbdigital and Raytheeagle like this.
  8. Phildo

    Phildo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    60
    36
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    i-Tech
    I read on here somewhere ages ago that running the car that way will further damage the modules by running them too flat.

    The car stops putting charge into the modules but will take charge from them.

    If you intend to completely replace the hybrid battery (or modules, eg from a wreck) then continue.

    If you intend to rebuild/recondition your battery then driving the car will make this task more complex and expensive.

    Note: Hopefully someone with an actual clue will come along soon and clarify/correct this (ie I'm low-level novice at this).
     
  9. MichaelN77

    MichaelN77 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    33
    2
    0
    Location:
    Neptune, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Almost done getting the funding to do this. Fully the Prius can hold out a little be longer.
     
  10. MichaelN77

    MichaelN77 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    33
    2
    0
    Location:
    Neptune, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    No more Prius driving it is barely accelerating even though the battery is supposed always full. Is it possible to do this repair with a torc wrench?
     
  11. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    1,133
    517
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes

    He uses an electric wrench just to speed the process up. I think you need 2 Torque wrenches though.
     
  12. 2k1Toaster

    2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    5,539
    3,077
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    You should use a torque wrench to get the correct spec's instead of just "by feel". You don't need 2 different ones, but it helps as the nuts on the batteries are torqued to a low inch-lb value whereas the big bolts are torqued to a much higher ft-lb value. It's unlikely for a cheap torque wrench to be calibrated for both value ranges. The important one is the nuts on the battery. The bolts that hold it to the car are less important in my view. But to do it right, every nut and bolt on the vehicle has a spec from the factory.

    I personally do NOT recommend using a power tool for any of this. Yes it will take longer. However, I have seen the effects of people using power tools installing my modules as well as others. It is VERY easy to slip and now you short two modules together. It may only be a second or two, but you will melt bus bars, fuse/weld terminals and basically cause at least 1 battery module worth of damage. Go slowly. Take your time. Be methodical. Be safe.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  13. MichaelN77

    MichaelN77 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    33
    2
    0
    Location:
    Neptune, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    It is possible to use normal wretches and socket wretches?

    The good thing is we are not planning to use power tools. Honestly I am kind of scared of them. I used a drill to make a hole on the bottom of the front cup holder to pass a Lightning cable through for Apple CarPlay. That drill took forever to make a hole large enough through plastic. I know I was not using it right for it take that long. I could find any information on that particular project.
     
    #2333 MichaelN77, Feb 19, 2019 at 5:17 PM
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2019 at 5:50 PM
  14. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    1,133
    517
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You NEED at least 1 torque wrench to do the job. The harbor freight inch pound one will work for the bolts electricity flows thru.

    Some auto parts stores rent tools. Have you checked to see if you can rent one?
     
  15. MichaelN77

    MichaelN77 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    33
    2
    0
    Location:
    Neptune, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Yes we have plenty of Auto Zone stores. I am planning on renting one if I have to. Which I guess is yes. Then picking it up on the way to my cousin's house. I am not sure if the Prius can make the seventeen miles to his house anymore. So I am trying to figure out if I can tow it there. Thankfully our insurance company has free roadside assistances with towing. Not sure if it covers seventeen miles though. At least the DIY Battery Replacement Kit is paid for now.

    I should probably ask this now. What is the exact name and/or model of this wrench I need when I get to Auto Zone or purchase it at Harbor Freight please?
     
    #2335 MichaelN77, Feb 19, 2019 at 6:00 PM
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2019 at 6:10 PM
  16. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    1,133
    517
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You should really do some research and figure that out by yourself. You need to be prepared.
     
  17. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    3,834
    2,562
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Inch....pound.....torque.....wrench.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  18. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    6,786
    8,820
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    48 inch pounds is the spec ;).
     
  19. MichaelN77

    MichaelN77 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    33
    2
    0
    Location:
    Neptune, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Thank you and thank you. So it actually called that, fascinating?
     
  20. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    3,834
    2,562
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I guess technically it could be call just torque wrench.

    But torque wrench come in many scales, drive sizes, and other variatons.

    Scales
    Inch pound
    Foot pound

    Drive size
    1/4 inch
    3/8 inch
    1/2 inch

    Can be
    Beam type
    Click type
    Electronic

    So my more specific reccomendation for you is a 1/4 inch drive, click type, inch pound torque wrench.

    You can look at YouTube videos to see how to properly use it.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
Loading...