Gen II, upgraded JBL - issue regarding mp3 cds

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Nirosorin, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. Nirosorin

    Nirosorin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    15
    5
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A


    New to PriusChat. Hope i'm not askind a question allready answered in other posts.

    Just bought a 2005 Prius. Nav, bluetooth, JBL.
    But, there's a thing about the Jbl: the previous owner ditched the cd-cassette JBL and upgraded it to the next gen (2006-2009) JBL, 6 CD changer, mp3. Everything works fine, except: if I insert mp3 cd's they play just fine but it doesn't show the track name on number on the MDF, I cannot change the cd on the MDF - the touch buttons are unactive. I can change traks or cds only using streering wheel buttons or voice commands.
    Everything works great when I use audio cds. It allows me to change cds or tracks on the MDF, it displays track number and track time.

    Did anyone had the same issue? Can it be improved or am I stuck with this?

    Note that i'm a DIY kind of guy, so I oviously think i'm better than any dealership worker. :))



    Thanks,
    Sorin
     
  2. ToyotaPrius2005

    ToyotaPrius2005 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    36
    4
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    V
    does it support MP3? I have 2005 and does not support MP3, I use a cassette conversion to connects to a ipod..works good enough for me.
     
  3. Nirosorin

    Nirosorin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    15
    5
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

    It does support MP3. The whole JBL system is newer then the car, it's from a 2006-2009 Prius. But i still have the issue with the tracks not being displayed properly on the MDF.
     
  4. jadziasman

    jadziasman Prius owner emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    1,355
    473
    0
    Location:
    District 6
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    The MFD in the 05 has a lower resolution display than the 06 to 09 MFD. This might explain the difference.
     
Loading...