Gen1 custom PID for engine link

Discussion in 'OBDII iPhone App' started by Wisco, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. Wisco

    Wisco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    115
    20
    0
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all,

    I have engine link on my iPod touch 4g and ipad. Both connect well to the obd2 wifi adapter.

    On both of them I get some codes (including speed, rpms, coolant temp, g-force, intake air temp, timing advance, engine load, mpg) but most of the prius specific codes (HV SOC, MG1 temp, ICE Torque, etc) don't have a value. I tried the Prius C, Prius Plugin, and Prius Gen2 PIDs. The standard PID has the most functional data points.

    I'm not surprised that the gen 1 has different PIDs, from what I've gathered there was a protocol change starting with the gen 2s.

    Does anyone know where I can find a first generation PID? Or do the gen1s just not have all the features of the newer vehicles?
     
  2. Wisco

    Wisco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    115
    20
    0
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Update: With the help of other engine link users, I have been able to retrieve data from most of the Prius-specific PIDs on my nhw11. The problem with the other lists appears to be the headers. I have changed all the headers on this list to zero (the default header). Almost all of the PIDs are now active, but the downside is that many the PIDs aren't getting results from the correct ECUs.

    I will continue to work on the problem, but for now the attached list will allow other engine link users to access many of the Prius-specific PIDs on their first generation cars. Delete the txt extension before use.

    Anyone familiar with nhw11 headers is more than welcome to chime in..
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Wisco

    Wisco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    115
    20
    0
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Bingo!

    If we remove the first two and last two digits of the header and just leave 10,16, and D5 the app accepts the headers and the car still responds with the correct ECU.

    There are still a couple PIDs that give dubious results, 12v battery voltage for example, but I haven't gotten around to correcting the formulas. There may also be other PIDs that could be added to the list.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jdcollins5

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    5,131
    1,314
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Wisco,

    Good job. To me half the fun of this is figuring out how to make the PID's work correctly !

    I see where the Aux. Battery PID's are scaled for 0 to 200V. One way to figure out the proper scaling is to manually input a test PID, duplicating the PID in question, but changing the formula to just the raw A value. A should be between 0 and 255 decimal. You can measure the aux. battery voltage and determine what the A value represents. Then you can scale accordingly.

    I see where the Main Battery Voltages are scaled for 0 to 65535. I am not sure what the individual module voltages for the Gen 1 should be but again you could determine the raw A and B values and from these determine the correct scaling value.

    I see some SIGNED A values in the file. This will work for the Torque app but not for Engine Link. EL does not support this. I just substituted the A value for the SIGNED A value since the temps will not be below 0 where I live.

    Let me know if I can help.

    Dwight
     
  5. Wisco

    Wisco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    115
    20
    0
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yeah, it will be a fun project to straighten out those formulas. It's -21F here in Wisconsin though, so I won't be sitting out in the car to test them!
     
  6. jdcollins5

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    5,131
    1,314
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    LOL - I understand that. At least we are on the positive side of 0 at 20F!

    I have family in Wisconsin that have been keeping us up to date on the weather conditions.
     
  7. alager

    alager Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    11
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I know this thread is pretty old, but did you ever make any changes to the PIDs for the batteries?
    I still have my classic (gen 1) prius, with original batteries. I'm starting to think I should monitor them. I have the torque app (pro), and am interested in setting this up.
     
  8. khublai

    khublai New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    1
    1
    0
    Location:
    Mongolia
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Wisco did you finished your project on PID for gen 1 . I'm new member of the Group
    thank you
     
    Dofang likes this.
  9. landspeed

    landspeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    327
    166
    0
    Hi!

    This is gonna sound a bit strange, but....... did anyone ever get this to work (at all?); specifically it doesn’t work; none of the PIDs show up on the menu or when added to the screen; the OBD adapter works with EngineLink on my NWH20 - however these NWH11 codes won’t work at all on my NWH11?

    Did anyone else find this and give up, back in the day?
     
  10. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    12,028
    8,726
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I noticed this thread didn't seem to have any link to the Gen 1 vehicle database we compiled back in the day.

    It was expressed in XML that should be easy enough to read to see everything that's going on, with the idea that someone can just write an exporter in, say, XSLT or XQuery, that will write it out in the form your app wants. A couple exporters were written, for ScanGauge II and for the Torque app.
     
    landspeed likes this.
Loading...