Gen2 Prius: Custom PIDs for Torque (Android App) with formulas

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by usbseawolf2000, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. 7Lowe

    7Lowe Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    28
    2
    0
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks usbseawolf2000 and anyone else who contributed to this. I just bought the app and my BT reader arrived today so I'll be trying this out soon.

    I'm most interested in checking the health of the HV cells since my car is like 11 years old now.
     
  2. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    The Seawolf PIDs are good for the hybrid system,but I found some of the math wrong for gauges. I need the engine PIDs.

    XT1585 ?
     
  3. mfa-prius

    mfa-prius Old member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    299
    45
    1
    Location:
    Hansville, WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Good luck. I've been looking for those for years with no success. Must be a closely guarded secret.
     
  4. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I have some of the generic values, rpm, temp, MAF, 02 sensors... I have a factory scan tool. I just lack the expertise in extracting the information. Maybe there is a good software engineer here that can help?

    XT1585 ?
     
  5. talonts

    talonts VFAQman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    443
    64
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So I finally bought Torque Pro 4.6 so I could load the custom PIDs. No luck.

    I have the USBSeawolf CSV file in /storage/external_SD/.torque/extendedpids, but when I try to "Add predefined set", Torque Pro does not display the USBSeawolf file. I can load that file into Thinkfree Viewer from its' location.

    I had to copy it into Torque Pro's internal directory to load it. Now to have fun setting up various pages of gauges.
     
  6. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I had some trouble too, These androids suck at associating files with a program. I have a few that I have made. Let me know if I can help with anything. I barely get by with this part, but I am learning.

    XT1585 ?














    MERGED






    Where did you get the DLC 3/OBDII adapter from? Which style did you get, Bluetooth?

    XT1585 ?
     
    #586 tony2ltr, May 18, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2016
  7. Justdidit

    Justdidit LVNPZEV

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    1,878
    704
    75
    Location:
    Carrollton, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
  8. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Mine came from Australia somewhere. I got a wifi one recently, it didn't work for crap. They replaced it with a Bluetooth one. I also have an old cable adapter. I have some resources that I might be able to get some help from for PIDs. I'll reach out to him and see what happens.

    XT1585 ?
     
  9. Integraoligist

    Integraoligist Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    5
    0
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey all, I really need to know if the Torque Pro will read the 2005 Hybird codes? I had Autozone read the check engine light and nothing is coming up on their regular scanner... so instead of dropping $150 for a quick scan from the dealer thats 2 hours away... I was looking to get a bluetooth OBD2 reader with Torque Pro to tell me what the issues are.

    Thanks all!
     
  10. talonts

    talonts VFAQman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    443
    64
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I don't know if it will read ALL the DTCs, but even Torque Lite showed the P0A80 I was getting with my old HVbatt pack on my 06, so I'd suggest getting a BT reader and trying Torque Lite first.
     
  11. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Torque pro is only $6, just get it and do your research on the ELM OBDII connectors. They have Bluetooth, wifi, and wired. BT is the least glitchy. Make sure you are getting it from a place that uses current elm327 chips and has good review. There are many clones out there that have problems. I have a bunch of custom PIDs for mine. System codes are hard to get other than generic ones. All you need is the correct addresses for things, and you can write your own formulas for gauges.

    The scan tools pep boys and the others use can actually screw up your Prius. YEP! That. The most common is the loss of linear valve calibration which will light the dash up like a Christmas tree.

    I can read almost everything form the HECU and HVB ECU with torque. I have about a dozen gauge sets I use for diagnosing different system issues, O am a bit weak with my collection of engine operation PIDs. I have amps/power, current, speed, and rotational direction, torque +- for the HV battery, mg1, mg2, inverter temps, HSystem power, fuel economy, fuel left to empty, HP calculations, 0-60 and 1/4 mile times. It can track your route, scan the whole CAN bus for PID addresses (which helps when using a predefined generic set to determine which ones your particular year and model use.
    I use it more than the techstream.

     
    #591 tony2ltr, May 25, 2016
    Last edited: May 25, 2016
  12. Integraoligist

    Integraoligist Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    5
    0
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey all,
    Can not seem to get the Regen Braking to work... all other items I tested for the HV batt. seems to work fine though. I tried it Dial Meter and Needle and Histogram but neither are showing anything. Does it just not work or is there a specific display type it should be in?

    Thanks!
     
  13. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    What are you describing? Screens in torque? You have no regen? Problem with abs or battery? What are the codes?

     
  14. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Oh wait, you are taking about a torque gauge for the HVB? Do you want amps or volts or SOC?

     
  15. Zottel

    Zottel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    1
    1
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I was very interested in checking every single HV block.

    Finally i´ve had time to load the csv into the torque app, everyting works fine.
    Thanks to everybody who helped to create the file.

    HV Block 1-14 - 08.06.16.jpg
     
    iodyb likes this.
  16. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    So, as a point of interest, HVB codes usually set at delta .3V difference. It is a very crude monitoring system, which is why these have any battery troubles at all.

     
  17. gamma742

    gamma742 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    170
    67
    0
    Location:
    Lexus ES300h
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Luxury
    Do you think they should have allowed a larger variance?
     
  18. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    A smaller one. Much smaller. The variance and inability to correct it, is what causes premature failure.

     
  19. tony2ltr

    tony2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    165
    61
    0
    Location:
    North Branford, CT.
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    When I use BMS systems. I tune individual 3.3v cells to within
    .005 Volts. Across every 13-19 volts, that is .020-.025V or so. The variances in manufacturing, allows the Nickel batteries to get out of sync on their SOC, every cycle getting farther and farther away. The prius has no battery management, just monitoring, so there is nothing available ,except on the gen 1 cars to even do a crude equalization.

     
  20. iodyb

    iodyb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    FR
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hey Nice gauges! May you share the CSV file?

    Envoyé de mon RAINBOW 4G en utilisant Tapatalk
     
Loading...