1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Glide vs coast?

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by MsTee, Mar 1, 2017.

1. MsTee

MsTee Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    i-Tech
    I'm a newbie and have a silly question that I hope someone here can answer. Is gliding different to coasting? I understand the pulse part, it's the glide part that confuses me.

I think of coasting as just letting the car go without pressing my foot on the accelerator. (In an old car, I'd even take the car out of gear to coast.) When I read this forum I saw this comment:

Fuel economy short-path zen:
    • - Gliding (lightly pressing the gas pedal so that no arrows point into or out of the battery on the "Energy" display) is better than coasting
    • - Coasting (foot off the gas pedal) is better than braking
    • - Braking is better than stopping
    From <What every newb should know | PriusChat>

Then, looking elsewhere on the web, I see that some people talk about the glide as if it's the same as coasting, to the extent that they talk about putting the car in neutral.

I figured the above comment is the right one. Gliding is different to coasting. In a glide you just take the pressure off the accelerator but don't remove pressure completely. Am I correct?

2. Sam Spade

Sam Spade Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    You will be the happiest with your new car if.........you just DRIVE it, using some common sense and not worrying about all of this hyper-milling crap.

Your attention should be on the road and traffic conditions around you. Getting an extra .5 MPG will be pretty meaningless if your brain is tied up worrying about THAT and you crash into something. :eek:

jerrymildred likes this.
  3. jerrymildred

jerrymildred Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two