1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Going Solar?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by PriusChatJeff, Nov 22, 2006.

1. PriusChatJeff

PriusChatJeff New Member

Hi Everyone,
    Thanks for the great community -- I'm a newbie... Just bought an 07 touring and LOVE it...
    Something I was curious about even before purchase: Has anyone out there given thought to hooking up flexible solar panels to charge the battery pack? Costco has a couple different models that convert sunlight directly into 12V producing 26 watts max and I was wondering about letting this 85 degree November Phoenix day charge my battery pack to 80% while I park or drive...
    Also 26 watts may not be worth much, but if left to charge in parking lot all day?
    Gotta find some way to make the heat work for us here!
    Peace,
    Jeff[attachmentid=5739]

Attached Files:

2. aaf709

aaf709 Ravenpaw of ThunderClan

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    I don't think it would work with your main battery pack. It might help the small battery, though.

3. darelldd

darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    All you can do with a product like that is keep the Aux battery topped up. It will only insignificantly effect the traction pack as it may not have to top of the Aux battery when it first comes alive. Honestly though, you'll likely never notice any difference in FE.

And one point to keep in mind after your comment about "putting this heat to use) - PV panels to not convert heat into electricity. In fact, heat is counterproductive. You need sunlight - the best is sunlight on a cool, clear day. Heat will derate the output substantially.

4. c4

c4 Active Member