1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

GOT HYBRID BATTERY QUESTIONS? ASK AWAY

Discussion in 'Toyota Hybrids and EVs' started by Adolfo Gaona, Nov 11, 2019.

1. Adolfo Gaona

Adolfo Gaona New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hello Hybrid Owners, I've been reading a lot of forums on hybrid battery experiences and majority didn't sound good. I created a Prius Chat Account to help you guys in understanding your vehicle better. I'm an ASE Certified Tech in electrical systems and have taken Hybrid Battery courses as well. I have worked in 2 hybrid shops in Orange County Ca and now Operate Hybrid Drive Batteries located in Yorba Linda Ca.
    I want to help spread more knowledge to make the Prius community more alert when it comes to dealing with a hybrid battery problem and purchasing one. Feel free to ask me questions.

Cyvan, hyp3rmil3r, smilyme and 2 others like this.
  2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks for offering... Those of use who are refining our DIY skills when it comes to pack rebuilding are primarily limited by the quality of our testing equipment.

I always say my buddy with $30K in lab grade testing gear who can process as many as 80 modules at once can find the very best modules to build 3-year warranty quality packs very quickly.

But those of us who have less than a couple thousand dollars in equipment and have to hand enter our module data into spreadsheets are much more limited. Even though we're pretty good at finding bad modules, reconditioning bad modules, finding some modules before they go bad, it's difficult to rebuild a pack that's maintenance free for a few years.

So my question is what type of inexpensive equipment can we add / upgrade beyond this list of the usual:

-- Multiple RC Hobby chargers and 50w/12v bulbs for ---> charging, discharging, load testing and reconditioning individual modules.