1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

GPS lag

Discussion in 'Prime Audio, Electronics, and Infotainment' started by gearsim, May 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. gearsim

gearsim New Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Prime Owners, have you noticed GPS marker is a couple seconds behind your actual location? I started noticing after missing a couple turns during navigation thru a neighborhood.

2. Lee Jay

Lee Jay Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Of course it's a couple of seconds behind. Finding a GPS position isn't instantaneous even with a continuous lock, and then it has to plot this on the screen and animate it. Google Maps is farther behind than the in-car GPS in my experience.

3. Since2002

Since2002 Senior Lurker

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have been using GPS for almost twenty years, starting with the Garmin II Plus (the map in it only had major highways!) Even when they started including turn-by-turn directions, the one thing that I learned early on is to use the GPS only for general guidance to let me know that I am in the ballpark, I always make the actual turns based on visual sighting of the street sign. When the GPS says the next turn is 0.10 miles away that's when I start looking for it. Even though I can't always read the street sign that far away that's when I start looking for the turn and I can usually spot the street sign even before I am close enough to read it. Yes in a neighborhood with streets close together it's a little more difficult, but as I keep looking for the street signs I can usually make the correct turn.