1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

GreenTecAuto = SCAM

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by BCS-TX-Prius07, Jun 14, 2015.

1. BCS-TX-Prius07

BCS-TX-Prius07 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have an 07' Prius that lit up the dash with warning lights a couple of months ago. Code P0a80 HV battery failure. Just under the 8 month warranty but over the 100K mileage by 15K. Checked with the local Toyota dealer and the price quoted was $3000+ and one year warranty. Discovered via YouTube how to disassemble and replace any bad modules. Being an electronics tech I decided to take this on. Finding the bad module was easy. All but one was reading 7.7 volts. The bad one was 6.5 volts. Purchased a used modules off eBay advertised at 7.7 volts for around $50, installed it, and all was good for 2 weeks. Dash lit up, same code, so I pulled it apart and discovered another module was bad. So began my search for a complete pack. Found GreenTecAuto who advertised a pack with new modules for $2295 and a 4 year warranty. I called and was assured the modules really were new so I loaded up my pack and drove to Dallas, about 3.5 hours away and bought one of the "new" packs. Returned home and before installing decided to open it up and to see these "new" modules. It took about 20 seconds to find these were not in fact new but were original used Toyota modules. Called GreenTec and was connected to a VP named Daniel Razumovsky who assured me my modules were indeed new and had a 4 year warranty anyway. While that is all fine and dandy I had no desire to go through this again in a few months or maybe a year down the road. Almost 2 weeks of back and forth by phone and email and they would not budge from their stand I informed them I would return the pack for a full refund. They offered no help on shipping even though I saved them the $150 ship to me by pickin