1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Greetings, another Prii newbie here

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by Parsival, Feb 28, 2022.

1. Parsival

Parsival New Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Hello all,

I’ve been lurking for sometime and finally picked up a 15’ Prius v Five. I came from a 2nd gen Tacoma 4x4, so it’s been quite an adjustment in driving style and driving habits. The mileage is really incredible at least compared to what I’m used to w the Taco. Anyhow, here she is in all her beauty. I do have a question for you all. It seems that when I park and I have a full near charge, the charge seem depleted by the am so the engine kicks on. I like to running EV mode in the residential track when i can but I can’t do it first thing in the am. Is that a sign the battery is going or is normal to have parasitic loss through out the night? I’m in California so I do have the extended battery warranty for 3 more years or another 50k miles.

- Pars

Attached Files:

dig4dirt likes this.
  2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    congrats and welcome to PriusChat!

Hmm, a hybrid battery shouldn’t drain overnight. When new, it’ll retain its charge by morning. Either there’s a parasitic loss somewhere or the HV battery is on its way out.

Does the engine run more often than you’d expect when you drive during the day? What about mpg? What kind of numbers are you getting? A new HV battery basically transform the car back to when it was new (as attested by a member here who replaced his 2007 Prius battery with a new one) so it might not be a bad idea to keep that in mind as the warranty end date approaches.

Parsival likes this.
  3. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three