1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Greetings From a New 2014 PiP Owner - My Analysis vs. Volt and Questions

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by m3ryder55, Mar 30, 2016.

1. m3ryder55

m3ryder55 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hello Priuschat,

I never thought I'd see the day I'd own a Prius. I will admit I used to be an donkey driver towards "efficient" vehicles on the roads.. BUT NOW IT ALL MAKES SENSE.. and now I know the struggle of trying to save MPG!! : ) being on the other side of it now, on the 405 and stuck in the traffic jams of LA with people tailgating you, cutting you off and not letting you merge into lanes -- I noticed this is a common theme in some of my background reading on this forum. I've already learned an incredible amount of useful information from basic research on here.

Anyways, it is nice to join this community. I recently landed a job forcing me to commute from Chatsworth to Playa Vista (405 freeway) (32 miles round trip) (average time 1hr-1.20hr). I knew it was time to ditch my daily 2005 Porsche Cayenne V6 that averages 12mpg and takes 22gallons to fill up.. my weekend car is an F82 M4 so I still get my fun out of it when I can. The first two weeks of my commute, my brother let me borrow his 2013 Volt with the HOV stickers. Although the HOV lane didn't help much, it still helped and on some days it did noticeably save me some time.. other days not so much. I knew I needed to find a car with HOV stickers on it and preferably a used one with low miles since CA wasn't issuing out anymore HOV stickers. Electric cars with white stickers just aren't feasible at this point in time and theres no point to buy commuter cars brand new in my opinion.