1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Grinding Ceramic Brake Pads - Loud!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Flying Toad, May 18, 2018.

1. Flying Toad

Flying Toad Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    What's up Prius Chat!

So I replaced both the front and rear pads with a set of ceramics and left the old rotors in place, and the result is the sound of stones grinding together when I brake hard or at slow speeds. The rotors don't seem to be particularly bad but I'm not a mechanic. They are definitely not super smooth either, and so I feel like maybe they might have something to do with it. I tested the pads by sliding them along the surface of the rotors by hand with the wheel off and I can see that is where the sound is coming from, when the pad makes contact with the rotor surface and moves across it. I am surprised because I thought that ceramic pads were actually supposed to be quieter? The sound is really annoying.

I also think that they might be dragging on the rotor a bit even when I'm not braking and I have no idea what to do about that either, and I'm positive they are for the 2010 Prius that I've got.

So I am wondering if I should just forget about the ceramic pads and try maybe organics or if I should replace the rotors. Would it be worth it to even try that? There is a bit of rust on the usual spots on those things but it doesn't look terrible.

Also, does anyone know the size of the bolt that drills into the rotor so that you can pry it off if it gets stuck from rust?

Many thanks for any help here!

2. jzchen

jzchen Newbie!

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    How's the brake fluid level? If overfull thermal expansion can cause the brakes to bind.

Ceramic usually means quieter...

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    how many miles on them?