Guide how to clean install dashcam, hidden cable!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by WhitePrius2010, Dec 2, 2017.

  1. WhitePrius2010

    WhitePrius2010 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    3
    3
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Today I installed Aukey dashcam in 2010 prius, clean wiring and no mess. Decided to share with you guys.

    here are tools you need.

    1. Rubber glove, the ceiling and side get dirty quickly from finger oil, so wear a clean glove
    2. Flat head screw driver, not sharp one, otherwise you will damage the camera power cable.

    Video guide is here


    Drop message on youtube video if you have a question.

    Thank you,
     
    mmmodem, xliderider and scona like this.
  2. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    7,503
    2,918
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I will be installing dashcams in both vehicles in the next few weeks. Will be hardwiring in and routing the wire through the dashboard and up the A-pillar and behind the headliner as well.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  3. WhitePrius2010

    WhitePrius2010 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    3
    3
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    There is another way, removing the center dome and get the power from there. There is 12v source you still need to use the cigar adapter to convert down to 5v. Doing so will result also clean install but extra work, cutting wires, soldering etc.

    Anyways goodluck on your installation!
     
  4. K-Dub

    K-Dub Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    30
    9
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    There are both switched and constant 12V sources up there depending on your needs.
     
    stormchaser likes this.
  5. Fostel

    Fostel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    87
    24
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Excel
    You are obstructing the curtain airbag routing this way. Better to remove the A-pillar cover to see where exactly a curtain is placed.
    I am just looking for how-to as I don't want to damage a sensor or deploy an airbag.

    I will try this as an alternative:
     
    #5 Fostel, Aug 26, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2019
Loading...