1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hacking the screen and the future of Entune

Discussion in 'Prius v Audio and Electronics' started by FriarNurgle, Apr 19, 2013.

1. FriarNurgle

FriarNurgle Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm a prospective buyer and tech enthusiast. Looking forward to test driving various Prii tomorrow. Had some thoughts and questions regarding the screen in the Prius and Entune.

Pretty sure I might end up with a Prius v three model even though I likely won't use the nav or Entune features. The maps app on my iPhone is more than acceptable and I'll probably just stream podcasts anyway... but why in the heck would I buy trim level three? Let me tell you why.

It seems the future of Entune is wide open and could bring about much more functionality when tied to our smartphones. Hopefully better UI, apps, and features will come to current models and not be fragmented when new Prius models come out in the years to come. Toyota could unfortunately do this to "encourage" people to upgrade to a new car just like cell phone and computer manufactures do.

Another thought and question is that with the cool airplay and mirroring features on iOS and even similar video out features on Android could opt to just display our various mobile apps like iOS Maps app on the Prius screen? I yet to locate any information on this being attempted but it seems a logical step.

2. Jzerocsk

Jzerocsk Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Most video streaming protocols (Airplay, DLNA, UPnP, etc) rely on WiFi which the Prius lacks. Entune uses Bluetooth to interface with a mobile device, but Bluetooth does not have the bandwidth to mirror video between devices. There's no way you could do this kind of mirroring/streaming using the "out of the box" Prius hardware.