1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Half/full gas tank?

Discussion in 'Prime Fuel Economy & EV Range' started by IABoy987, Jan 30, 2022.

1. IABoy987

IABoy987 Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    We keep our gas tank about half full with no-ethanol 87 grade gas, figuring that gas will get burned off sooner than an always full tank. But wondered if a half empty allows condensation build up in winter that contaminates gas. Or is this a don't care situation?

bisco likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i've been running 2-3 gallons for many years now. no problems so far

3. john1701a

john1701a Prius Guru

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    You don't own a Prime. It's not the same.

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    are primes worse?

5. john1701a

john1701a Prius Guru

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Since the system is sealed, there is no way for condensation to build up. As for ethanol and filling it full, makes no difference. My wife and I have been filling our 2017 Primes with E10 since the day each was purchased. No big deal. The tank lasts months and there has never been any reason for concern at all. On one trip to Wyoming from Minnesota, I even filled up with E15 in South Dakota.

6. Okie from Muskogee

Okie from Muskogee New Member

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Count on ethanol free gas lasting roughly 6 months until it goes bad. Take your average hybrid miles per day multiply by 180 & that's the max gas range you should have in the tank. If you only drive 3 miles on hybrid daily, the maximum you should keep in the tank would be 3.5 gallons or so. And that's ethanol free gasoline.