Hands- Free while parked?

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by ThinkBigT3, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. ThinkBigT3

    ThinkBigT3 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    50
    12
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles- CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Is it true that you can not initiate a hands free call from the steering wheel while the the car is in ready mode, but parked. I tried a couple of times today, but I had to put it in drive and let it roll forward a few inches before it would work. Once the call was started, I was able to put it back in to park no problem.
     
  2. ukr2

    ukr2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    1,004
    267
    31
    Location:
    Victor, NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Did you verify that you Phone was sync'd with the PIP?
    I get a tone when my sync's up.
    However, I've not tried to call after starting, but before driving the PIP.
     
  3. ThinkBigT3

    ThinkBigT3 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    50
    12
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles- CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Yes, it's crazy. If the car is on (ready) but in park, I get a message something like... Voice activation not available.
     
  4. ukr2

    ukr2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    1,004
    267
    31
    Location:
    Victor, NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Call ToyotaCare, then select 5 Customer Support. They might be able to help.
     
  5. PiPLosAngeles

    PiPLosAngeles Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    1,198
    555
    0
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    I see the same.
     
  6. genetiix

    genetiix Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    123
    49
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I noticed this when I just start up the car and immediately hit the voice command button. It seems to take 30 secs or so for the head unit's software to 'warm up' and have voice command available.
     
    lensovet likes this.
  7. lensovet

    lensovet Not your typical youngin :)/BP Brigade 207

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    2,606
    490
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale CA
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    the issue seems to be the BT connection. if you have the BT audio source selected, you'll notice that it takes forever for that to start playing.
     
Loading...