1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hanging plastic underbody by front wheel of 2010 Prius: safe to drive & options to fix later?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by nowayyeahright, Mar 11, 2019.

1. nowayyeahright

nowayyeahright New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hello everyone! This is my first time posting here so sorry if I'm in the wrong place. I commute 1 hour to my job, and today I work from 10am to 10pm. Halfway through my journey this morning there was some very strong wind, and I suddenly heard a loud ratting sound from the front of my car. When driving it sounds like a card in bicycle spokes, and sometimes makes a grinding sound which makes me think it's dragging on the ground or hitting the wheel. I made it to work and tried to take some pictures, but it's hard to get a clear view. The whole plastic shell around the left front wheel feels loose, and there's a piece hanging off completely. There's also a bad burned plastic smell.
    About one year ago, I hit a raccoon (poor guy). He didn't get run over by the wheels, he got dragged under and ripped off my splash shield/guard. I intended to have it replaced but got the runaround from a garage I had never gone to before, and just didn't end up having one reattached. Probably a stupid decision, but my go-to garage said it wasn't necessary to have it replaced. Now I'm sure the raccoon is what loosened this piece too, since I've never been in an accident or hit anything else with my car. So to get to the point: Is it unsafe to drive home tonight? Should I take breaks as I'm driving or something? Also, how do I go about fixing this? Should I have all the plastic pieces replaced, or just get all of the loose pieces removed? If they are removed, how will that affect my car in the future?

Please help a paranoid idiot out.

Thanks!