1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Has anyone pulled their motor and trans at same time?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Brianfromsocal, Apr 9, 2022.

1. Brianfromsocal

Brianfromsocal Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    I bought my 2012 with 280k miles for about a grand. Not long after the engine went boooooom. I have bought another engine but it needs a head gasket ive mounted it on a stand and have begone disassembling it. Has anyone else done this and if so any tips or tricks? I kinda wanna check everything while engine is apart im trying to get ideas as im by no means a mechanic. Ive got a new water pump, Thermostat, plugs, coil packs, and timing chain. Anything else i should check or replace? The newer motor supposedly had 120k on it and advice would be appreciated

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    It would be unusual for a head gasket to fail at 120k miles. Chances are this engine has more miles than advertised. If there is a VIN number on the engine, maybe you can run a carfax to check?

But great deal on the car, $1000 can't beat that!!

3. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    This is open deck design . Better get in theyre and look really good whilst engines OUT. Yes mine in n out as assembly . Faster to me . As I changed to lower mileage assembly like from near 300K to something like 70K

4. EH6TunerDaniel

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Its much easier to leave the trans in.

5. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    How ya sposed to buy em

6. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    You need pistons and rings which is the root cause of the hg problems. We are seeing more lower mile hg fails with age.

7. Tombukt2