Has anyone tried to install a 10.1 Android HU?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by JayRock_PHX, Oct 10, 2018.

  1. JayRock_PHX

    JayRock_PHX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    82
    25
    0
    Location:
    phoenix az
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I been eyeing an android head unit. Now i seen the ones that just replace the existing entire unit. But i wanted to get something like this. Not this exact unit. But something like this....

    s-l1600.jpg
     
    kc5dlo likes this.
  2. vthreee

    vthreee Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    48
    25
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    nope, I was able to score the pioneer nex8400 for like half off a few days ago. about to install tomorrow. I saw a few videos on youtube with these Chinese headhunts, seem pretty cool for android users; but im looking for the wireless CarPlay
     
  3. FallRisk

    FallRisk Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    7
    4
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I've been actually trying to find out the same thing, as long as it fits I don't see an issue. I have my eyes on an
    Dasaita 10.2" Android 6.0 Adjustable Car GPS Player Car Navigation Head Unit for Universal Double Din with Octa Core 2GB+32GB Auto Radio Bluetooth Wifi Car Stereo
     
  4. n23

    n23 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    29
    17
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Persona
    I would love the functionality and apps of a a full Android HU - but I can't deal with the start up times. I saw a review a few months ago that had a 16 second start up time - 16 seconds, and it was considered 'fast'. I know I'm spoiled with the OEM HU that starts playing the last source in a few seconds, even my old beloved JVC needed about 5 to be up and running. But, 16? or more? No thanks.
     
  5. JayRock_PHX

    JayRock_PHX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    82
    25
    0
    Location:
    phoenix az
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Actually i saw a video of those of these android units on i think amazon. the dude installed it in his truck and the boot up was like instant. try searching on amazing for these head units and you will come across his review
     
    kc5dlo likes this.
  6. FallRisk

    FallRisk Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    7
    4
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    III
    8E073DFC-49AA-4BC7-A4D2-76E100192522.jpeg
    I’m just going to let this sit here .
     
    kc5dlo and bossprius like this.
  7. bossprius

    bossprius Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    2
    2
    0
    Location:
    Oro Valley
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    What functions did you lose or gain from this unit?
     
  8. FallRisk

    FallRisk Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    7
    4
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    III
    So far I have lost my aux, and reverse camera. I have gained hours of usful stuff and notable increase of sound due to the built in amplifier
     
  9. francisreedie

    francisreedie Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    2
    2
    0
    Location:
    Dublin
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Looks sweet. Do you have a parts list for the install? Does the unit block the air vents or can you move it up and down as required?
     
    kc5dlo likes this.
  10. DarkSasuke

    DarkSasuke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I know for a fact that you cant really adjust the unit/screen to steer clear of the vents and the unit does go hot so i guess the vents can assist with the cooling.
     
  11. costa84

    costa84 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    4
    3
    0
    Location:
    israel
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    III
  12. Triparadox

    Triparadox Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    186
    96
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
  13. Prunkd

    Prunkd Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Bow Wa
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Wow that looks great!!
    I'd love to see more details about your installation.
     
  14. tannerpace

    tannerpace Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    37
    3
    0
    Location:
    charleston
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I've been wanting to do this for a while now but sometimes when I need to lock the car up with the key fob in the car. I take the small metal key with me. Changing the setting is done using the vehicle settings menu on the stock head unit. Is it possible to change the settings on an aftermarket head unit?if not is there any way to still change the settings with an aftermarket head unit installed?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  15. fopoku2k2

    fopoku2k2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    292
    58
    1
    Location:
    Columbus - Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Did you get to install the pioneer 8400nex?

    MI CC 9e ?
     
  16. costa84

    costa84 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    4
    3
    0
    Location:
    israel
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    III
    20200325_155446.jpg 20200325_150151.jpg 20200325_145753.jpg [ATTACH = полный] 188647 [/ ATTACH] [ATTACH = полный] 188648 [/ ATTACH] [ATTACH = полный] 188649 [/ ATTACH]
     

    Attached Files:

    #16 costa84, Mar 25, 2020
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2020
  17. Triparadox

    Triparadox Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    186
    96
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
Loading...