Haunted radio???

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Tammy7287, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. Tammy7287

    Tammy7287 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    83
    3
    0
    Location:
    Maple Valley, WA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Twice in the last 3 weeks or so I have encountered a problem with the radio in my 2008 Prius.

    The first time it happened I was at a stop light. Today it happened as I was driving down the freeway. For some reason the radio decides it is not loud enough and it will adjust the volume on it's own. Sometimes it's only 1 or 2 levels but it also bumps it up or down by 10 levels.

    Has this happened to anyone else? Any suggestions on what to do? I know the dealership will want to recreate the problem but I can't MAKE it happen....it just does.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. dhancock

    dhancock 2 Prius Family

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    357
    40
    0
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY (Buffalo area)
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Yeh, we noticed the same thing the other day on a trip. I concluded that the volume control on the front of the radio was in a "funny" position (in these digital controls, the volume knob only runs an encoder and I suspect that the control was left with the encoder half way between segments allowing the slightest vibration to cause the encoder to generate an up or down signal). When I "tweaked" the volume knob slightly the problem went away.
     
  3. ETP

    ETP 2019Prius(Limited),Highlander HYB Plat,B52-D,G,F,H

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    2,643
    1,109
    0
    Location:
    Auburdale FL
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius
    Model:
    Limited
    I think there is an auto volume setting in the menu. Also, what does pushing in the volume knob do?
     
  4. MJFrog

    MJFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    780
    263
    0
    Location:
    NE Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    2018 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    N/A
    Pushing-in the volume knob makes it become flush with the rest of the console. It has no effect on its operation at all.
     
Loading...