Have Codes, Need Help Please….

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by MDGJR, Jul 14, 2021.

  1. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have a unique problem….. my dash lights are all light up, I’m getting error messages and it does not say ready, yet, the car starts and runs and performs. How can I fixed the Christmas tree dash lights and fix the error codes…. I’m lost on what this could be… Toyota can’t figure it out. They wanted me to replace the wiring harness and pay $7000 to fix the car. My speedometer doesn’t work nothing works all the lights are lite up, error codes flying in and the car performs beautifully starts up no problems whatsoever how can I fix this problem?
     
  2. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Stranded in Palm Desert….. I really need some help. Any ideas would be much appreciated. 115 degrees here
     
  3. bettergolf

    bettergolf Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    277
    255
    0
    Location:
    Sanford NC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Did you disconnect the 12v battery for 5 min and then reconnect? Did they check the 12v battery at all? Often when it;s getting weak all kinda of lights and messages pop up. It's a longshot, but worth a try.
     
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,364
    43,230
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    how can you be stranded if the car starts and performs beautifully?
     
    Johnny Cakes, Grit and amarino like this.
  5. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    i don’t want to drive 2 plus hours back to Coronado with all my dash lights lite up. I’m not sure what would happen on a long drive.
     
    bisco likes this.
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,249
    10,610
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    You are just taunting us if you keep talking about trouble codes but won't tell us what they are. That's just mean.
     
    Grit likes this.
  7. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,740
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    took the words right out of my keyboard!!!
     
    dig4dirt and bisco like this.
  8. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    One of the errors is a shift error it says shit malfunction take the car to flat ground and restart it. It also has the ABS light on and I don’t know what the code is for that but I can’t get it fixed I can turn it off for a little while but then as I drive for about five or 10 minutes boom pops back on. I’m doing my best to try to get this fixed I’m sorry if you find this funny.
     
  9. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,740
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    like the andrewmontral guy who got cel with dash lights on but tells us not to ask him to read the codes or take it in to a mechanic and only for us to speculate with him what the fix could be :ROFLMAO:
     
  10. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thanks guys, I’m here all day for you to bully. I’m just trying to get my car fixed and I thought Prius chat was a good place to come but obviously it’s not and I apologize for wasting everyone’s time.


    iPhone ?
     
  11. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    810
    619
    2
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Google is your friend. And ChapmanF correctly suggested pulling the code in this thread also. Good advice. Follow it.

     
    MDGJR likes this.
  12. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thank you. We have everything fixed but the abs and traction
     
  13. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Anyone have any idea why my abs and traction lights come on after I drive a little while? The brake light does Not come on. Just the abs and traction lights. Any help would be appreciated. I might have to go back to the dealer to see if they can pull the code and maybe even reset the abs for the fix.


    iPhone ?
     
  14. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,249
    10,610
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    If you tell us what the trouble codes are, we will have a chance to answer your question.

    If you do not have a scan tool to read the trouble codes with, you can search this site for information and reading blink codes using a jumper wire to make the dash lights blink. Not all of the computers in the car can do that, but the one that controls the ABS and traction lights can, so you will be able to get those codes.

    Then please post that information. It will tell specifically why your lights are on. Just saying the lights are on isn't enough, there are a couple hundred possible reasons.
     
    MDGJR likes this.
  15. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,740
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    cel codes are only suggestions, plug n pray baby!!!
     
  16. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Thank you!! I will run it by Toyota and get whatever code it is. Then I will post it. But, I’m hoping all they have to do is reset it…. “I can pray can’t I, lol”
     
  17. amarino

    amarino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    54
    50
    60
    Location:
    CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I've read in other threads on here that having a cheap OBD2 / ELMXXX adapter plugged in while starting the car can cause some computer <> computer communication issues and lead to those lights. If you have any adapters plugged in try unplugging them, turn off the car and turn back on, and see if it comes back.

    If not it can also be the ZJB "Customer Support Program" Customer Support Program Notification ZJB (anyone else?) | PriusChat
     
    Mendel Leisk and MDGJR like this.
  18. MDGJR

    MDGJR Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    25
    3
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, Coronado Island
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I finally have the trouble codes for my 2015 Prius. The codes are attached in the pictures…..
    Thanks in Advance!
     

    Attached Files:

  19. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,497
    4,758
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Is your car 100% stock or have you done any wiring "adjustments"?
     
  20. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    It does not help when the symptoms are not described.

    You need to find a good auto diagnostician who has complete factory documentation, Techstream, a storage scope (like a four channel Picoscope) and then have them chase it down. Normally when a group of things go down at once, its usually a bad ground or power source. People often blow fusible links and don't realize the normal fuses are just part of the circuit. Hard to say but often one common issue can be found by troubleshooting one circuit. A guy who is experienced and equipped may only require a hour or two. So his $150 an hour is worth it.
     
Loading...