1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Headlight upgrade options

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by LDB, Sep 19, 2015.

1. LDB

LDB Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I know there are some good HID options that as I understand it are now reasonably priced in the $150-200 range. I rarely drive at night, perhaps a couple times a month after a radio meeting or something. I haven't driven at night yet but I'm sure I'll want better than stock lighting, just as I have on prior cars. I've never done anything about it before but want to with this car. So, my question is about replacement bulbs that would just swap out with what's in there now at hopefully a cost of $25-50 for a pair. Any and all input are appreciated.

2. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I'm happy with the H9 bulb upgrade (link in my signature below) on our Prius. Minimal modification needed to the H9 bulbs for 150% more light, at about $20 per pair of bulbs (Osram or Philips).

I'm also happy with the OPT7 35w H11 AC HID kit I have in my Camry. I did block the squirrel finder cutouts to keep glare down to a minimum. Toyota projectors have cutouts in the cutoff shields that allow light to shine out high, above the cutoffs, to illuminate overhead road signs, but the bright HIDs will cause uncomfortable glare to oncoming drivers if these openings aren't blocked.

#2 xliderider, Sep 19, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2015
  3. Ben2jz

Ben2jz Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four