1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Heater in Extreme Cold

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by brown67, Feb 8, 2014.

1. brown67

brown67 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    So I got a Prius c back in September and love it. Question about the heater. Heat has worked great until this last week when we had an arctic cold front come down. I work nights so when I got off work this week it has been -10F to -15F. I have been staring the car and letting it warm up and start defrosting the windows as I'm finishing up work (I'm a UPS Feeder driver). The problem I'm having is the car never gets really hot. Usually the heater blows me out of the car. This last week I have had to keep the fan and temp on high all the way home(30 min. drive). I'm not cold, but wondering if this happens to other people who live in cold areas of the country.

Also, if I switch to just just having the heat on the floor it does get a little chilly in the car, so I have been selecting floor and defrost and that keeps it comfortable. This morning it was 12 above and the heat was back to normal and had to turn down the temp and fan after a few minutes. I think the car is just struggling with the extreme cold.

One really nice thing about a Prius c in cold weather. It starts right up since there is no starter motor. Turn the key and the electric motor kicks on and then the ICE motor comes on.

2. KYBlue

KYBlue Active Member

Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    I've found in extreme cold turning ECO mode off really helps get heat quicker/hotter. We've had a rough cold snap here the last month also and It's been wicked!

Fahfoofnik likes this.
  3. brown67

brown67 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes, I did that on the second day of the cold snap it does help.

4. Fore

Fore Don't look back!

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II