hello all! RTOD and PA080. Time for a new battery

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Ianmeister, May 6, 2020.

  1. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    hey all. so some of you may remember that I got a chance to Prolong my hodge podge unknown history battery. At first it seems to work, but after a few weeks it started doing that "drop to 27% jump to 80%" dance. Then the other day I got the ROTD. I I will be ordering a Newpriusbatteries.com unit. Results will follow after the new one arrives. that is all.

    TATA!!

    Ianmeister
     
    fotomoto and royrose like this.
  2. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    It’s here! It’s here! It’s finally here!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    Raytheeagle and Mendel Leisk like this.
  3. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    46,051
    32,892
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    This is the @2k1Toaster battery? That is exciting. :) Post pics as you go please.

    Just curious: what does RTOD and/or ROTD stand for? (n)
     
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,376
    43,240
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    red triangle of death-red orange triangle displayed
     
    davecook89t and Mendel Leisk like this.
  5. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    46,051
    32,892
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
  6. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    95,376
    43,240
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    nah, but don't confuse it with rtfm :p
     
    jerrymildred and Mendel Leisk like this.
  7. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    It’s here! It’s here! It’s finally here!!!!

    Ok it’s all installed. I’ll give a better write up when I have time. I’m trying to sell my house. Install was really not a big deal. I took my time and triple checked everything. Had to stop for the night at one point because my inch pound wrench broke. Car is zippier and alllll the engine bucking and surging and ecu codes are GONE. Mileage discussion pending.
     
  8. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Ok what the hell is going on?!? I’ve put 300 miles on the newpriusbatteries unit and the computer says 42.9 mpg. The seems low to me. Anyone got any ideas?
     
  9. JerryScript

    JerryScript Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    43
    37
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    300 miles is too short a period to get upset about results. The computer is actually making guesses based on its approximation of gas used. The funky bladder gas tanks do not have sensors that detect exact amounts, nor do any of the engine sensors.

    Keep track of how many gallons you put in over at least 3 tanks, and use one of your trip odometer to keep track of mileage. This will give you more accurate results, and it becomes more accurate the more tanks you extend your data collection.
     
    #9 JerryScript, Jul 2, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2020
    Sean2005Gen2CA likes this.
  10. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
  11. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    First tank 40.75 real numbers.
     
  12. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    4,378
    3,921
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You disconnected the 12v battery during the swap, did you also have a chance to clean up the MAF sensor?
     
  13. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Yes I did disconnect it. I’ll try cleaning the maf. I’m also getting a pending P0304 code ??? I’ll examine the plug this week
     
  14. 2k1Toaster

    2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    5,988
    3,790
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    A misfire can definitely lead to poor mileage. It also causes the battery to work harder since for the same amount of fuel in, the engine produces less power so it compensates by using the battery. It's a great system for the redundancy, but it sometimes hides other problems lurking below.

    It has been a while, but you can get similar issues with a bad oxygen sensor. I've seen some cars that were filled up with oil a little too sloppily and the oil when down the plugs causing misfires and fouling the sensor.
     
  15. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hmmm. When I got the car the plugs were badly fouled. Time to look into it.
     
  16. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Ah. So the plot thickens. When I bought the car in 5/19 first thing I did was replace the plugs. They were fouled pretty bad and the engine was dieseling. So fast forward a year or so and I pulled the suspect #4 coil and plug and found.... wet muddy muck in the hole!! See pictures. So for kicks and giggles I had a look at #3. It looked new. So I put #4 on #3 to see if the pending code moves to #3. After a good cleanup first. We’ll see. Wait for updates.
    PS still getting under 42 MPG
     

    Attached Files:

    Raytheeagle and SFO like this.
  17. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,878
    3,129
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So was that from a sloppy oil change getting oil into #3 from the top, or is your cover seal leaking around plug #3?
     
  18. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    the pictures are all from #4 actually but it seems the seal at the top of the coil are shot. After cleaning everything up and reassembly it runs sweet. I did swap 3 for 4 to see if the code jumps from 4 to 3. We’ll see. I need to do a longer test drive.
     
    SFO likes this.
  19. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    270
    304
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Arg! Battery is performing well. Holds its charge and consistently stays around 65-70% but I’m still only averaging 40mpg. I noticed today when I did a cold start that the engine runs rough until heated up. Maybe it’s time for new injectors and coil packs.
     
Loading...