Help ! 2006 Prius - starts and dies after 15 seconds

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by ikefor, Aug 8, 2016.

  1. ikefor

    ikefor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    104
    34
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    A friend's 2006 is giving some trouble and i would really love some help from the techies here.

    HV battery changed over 4 months ago and car ran fine until last week when the car just stopped and won't get ready. Before that incident, the vehicle was running fine all day, while he was returning from the days chores in the evening, it just stopped, dashboard all lit up.
    After a while, the car started again, and he was able to move it away to the side of the road...just about 2 meters and it stopped again.

    When i got to him, i pulled some codes using techstream
    P0A0F
    P3000
    P3190
    P0A80
    C1242
    C1259
    C1310

    Could this really be a HV battery issue?

    He changed the 12v battery and the situation did not change.

    When the vehicle is put to ready, it temporarily goes on ready for about 10 to 15 seconds, then you get this engine noise as if the ICE has just come on, then it then shuts down.

    I read somewhere that even though you get to hear that engine sound, it does not mean that the ICE is engaged.

    Well, went ahead to clean the maf sensor (with some maf sensor cleaner), the intake manifold and changed the plugs. Still the same.

    At this point, i may be heading to the HV battery. Any comments will be appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 6.png
      6.png
      File size:
      125.1 KB
      Views:
      0
    • 5.png
      5.png
      File size:
      216.6 KB
      Views:
      0
    • 4.png
      4.png
      File size:
      191.6 KB
      Views:
      0
    • 3.png
      3.png
      File size:
      130.2 KB
      Views:
      0
    • 2.png
      2.png
      File size:
      153.7 KB
      Views:
      0
    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      155.5 KB
      Views:
      0
    #1 ikefor, Aug 8, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2016
  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,106
    6,815
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    yes, at a minimum, it points to a hybrid battery failure
     
  3. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    85,415
    37,642
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    who changed the hv battery, and what brand?
     
  4. ikefor

    ikefor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    104
    34
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Dorman originally, it failed after 18 months of use. I reinstalled it after changing HV battery ECU, wireframe no 2 (old ones where toast), some module changes and balancing.
     
  5. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    85,415
    37,642
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    could be it then, i suppose.
     
  6. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,106
    6,815
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    You should return to Dorman......that battery ECU is also under warranty, you should not have to mess with it.
     
  7. ikefor

    ikefor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    104
    34
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    yes, i was thinking so too but i wanted to get opinions especially since the car goes ready....i would expect that the car will not get ready at all with a HV battery failure.
     
  8. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,106
    6,815
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    P0A80 code means you have a battery failure
     
  9. ikefor

    ikefor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    104
    34
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Yes JC91006, that was a decision that we had to make....living in sub sahara Africa, you can appreciate what it takes to get a Dorman battery incountry. Owner was not interested in going that route anymore ......
     
  10. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,106
    6,815
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I actually think your issue right now is you ran out of gas. Try putting 5 gallons of fuel in the car and go from there. Make sure it's 5 gallons or more, no less
     
  11. ikefor

    ikefor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    104
    34
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    yes, owner concurred that car may have run out of gas at some point, we went ahead and put in some gas....i actually don't know how much gas was put in the vehicle ..... will check with him and ask him to go ahead and add more gas to at least 5 gallons
     
  12. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,106
    6,815
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    The car will not register the fuel if you don't put 5 gallons in. Most owners put in 1 or 2 gallons and the car won't register that fuel. So try to add at least 3 more gallons
     
  13. ikefor

    ikefor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    104
    34
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Ok, will do that and revert ....you are absolutely right, i know for a fact that what was put was not upto 5 gallons.
     
  14. ikefor

    ikefor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    104
    34
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Ok, we put in some fuel till at least more than 5 gallons and the car did the same thing ..... Ready for about 15 secs and died.....sadly!!!
    Still looking out for a positive solution before I make a decision to head toward the battery .....

    I also changed the battery ECU with a known good same part no and it was same !
     
  15. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,106
    6,815
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Try and reset the car, disconnect the 12v battery for about a minute and reconnect. Then try to restart
     
  16. ikefor

    ikefor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    104
    34
    0
    Location:
    Lagos
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Ok will try that as well..and get back.........
     
  17. Vonecut

    Vonecut Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    4
    2
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore maryland
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I had the same codes and problem after one year with a new hybrid battery. I thought the worse..... Turned out to be a wasp got stuck in the sensor in throttle body cavity.
     
Loading...