1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help a total newbie - how to get on a waitlist?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by allidavie, Nov 12, 2005.

1. allidavie

allidavie New Member

Hi all, I'm totally new to the forum, so please forgive me if I should have posted elsewhere, I did a search but couldn't find anything on point.

I am currently a New York City resident but am in the process of moving to Florida. I need to get a car and am set on getting a Prius. I went into a Florida dealership today expecting to be able to look at the colors (I've only seen/driven my friend's black '05) and to put myself on a waitlist for an '06. The dealership insisted that neither they nor any other Florida dealerships had waitlists, and that you just had to hope for the best. Then they tried to sell me the one in-stock Prius they had. They stated that their "dealer package" added $2,000 to the sticker price, insisted on the undercoat etc. ridiculousness and the more I hemmed and hawed the more they took off the price and financing. I finally decided to walk away because I wanted to research whether I could get an '06.

Now that I've done some more research I'm sure I want an '06 but am not sure how to go about getting the color/package I want or how to get on a waitlist. Is it just this one dealer (Ed Morse in Delray) trying to pull a fast one or do other Florida dealers also refuse to allow waitlists? Am I just better off trying to get on a waitlist in New York? And if I go the NY route, how do I get on a waitlist there?

I apologize for this being disjointed, I'm just really confused!

Thanks!

2. Jack 06

Jack 06 New Member

Winters, CA: Prius capital of US. 30 miles W of S
    First, welcome!