1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help! Buying a Prius C Tomorrow

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Jon2490, Jun 5, 2020.

1. Jon2490

Jon2490 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    N/A
    New here!
    I’m buying a 2012 Prius C with 128k miles, with one owner for $6k I’ve never had a hybrid car. I’ve done some research and I’ve seen mixed reviews about ten maintenance cost. I’m a recent college graduate, so I will need something that’s not expensive at all to maintain. Any advice? Is this a good deal?

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!
    sorry we missed this. i would advise against a hybrid, am i too late?:unsure:

3. Jon2490

Jon2490 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    N/A
    They’re holding the car for me until tomorrow! Could you please elaborate? I have family telling me no and yes, but they don’t know anything about hybrids or Prius’s

4. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Argh. Prius c good 2012 a lot less good. Hope the deal went sideways.

5. Jon2490

Jon2490 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    N/A
    Are 2012 Prius C a bad make?

6. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    It's a mix of good and bad. The '12 is only lacking a very few details and touches that were added to the later models.
    A Prius c early in its life is freakishly inexpensive to maintain & operate, but the effect doesn't last.

The real issue is that the average 2012 Prius c is going to need a new hybrid battery soon, and that's pretty expensive.