1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help diagnosing issue 2007 Prius gen II p0a78

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Dylan Watson, Apr 11, 2019.

1. Dylan Watson

Dylan Watson Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    So I’m pretty new to all this stuff. What initially happened was I let’s my friend borrow my car and as they were defrosting it the battery died. I assume they didn’t actually start the car with the brake down and that’s why it died. I “thought” I knew how to jump the car but being the idiot I am in the dark I accidentally hooked the positive jump cable to the metal plate behind the actual terminal . I then put the negative end on the hood latch. Tried to jump it with someone’s car and nothing. Realized my mistake and connected it to the terminal correctly and as soon as I connected it my car powered up. I then tried starting my car while still connected to the jump cables and got it to come on. It displayed a parking break transmission error and couldn’t do anything. I read online in a forum to try and pull the 7.5amp fuse out for a bit and reinsert it to let it reset the error. And that worked and I was able to drive it fine. Everything was good for a couple weeks then it got really icy out one night and my vsc lights and abs lights came on . They went away after a day or so. About 3 weeks later after that the red triangle exclamation light came on along with the vsc light and the check engine light . It started having acceleration issues. I took it to auto zone and it only put out the code P0A78 motor a inverter . Now the car will frequently rev up after driving it a bit and can’t accelerate very fast. If I turn the car off and back on it will start working again. I noticed when it revs up and makes that sound the hv battery will no longer charge until I restart the car. Had a buddy run another odb II scan on it and it ca