1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help! Is the battery dead or something else?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by llamamobile, Jan 18, 2017.

1. llamamobile

llamamobile New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi all! I'm new to posting but I've been visiting since I bought my 2011 Prius last year.

I've had weird issues with my Prius. This morning when I tried to start it, it stayed in 'ready' mode, and all the indicator lights came on. It made a high pitched noise. The dome light, radio, and headlights all worked fine, and the car unlocked like normal as I approached it. It turned off with no problems.

I tried locking it, then unlocking it, and starting it again several times, and this happened several more times.

After fruitlessly trying to line up a tow to the shop (we're covered in ice here and all the tow companies are booked solid due to accidents), I looked in the manual and then around here for a solution. A few people had posted with similar issues and found that their 12v battery was dead. So I went out to try it one last time to see if the signs were the same before trying to using a jump pack.

All the dashboard indicators were the same, the high pitched noise was the same, and the lights and radio worked fine again. However, this time when I depressed the brake pedal and hit the button again to see if it would turn on, it DID. And the engine made a horrible loud rhythmic banging noise. It wasn't like a knocking, but it didn't sound electrical. I thought it sounded like something got caught under the hood, so I turned the car off and took a look, but I didn't see anything. It didn't sound like the engine was turning over, either (or at least not from what I remember cars sounding like when that happens).