1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

[Help] is this 2013 Prius a bad deal?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by R357, Dec 30, 2021.

1. R357

R357 New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Uploaded a pic of the CL posting. I have zero knowledge about Prius cars and am not handy, so I’d be bringing it into a mechanic/shop for any maintaining.

My main concerns with this car are that it’s coming up on 10 years old and is at 200k miles. Also, there’s a missing charging cable, which will run me some more money.

I also read in another thread that the 2013-15 models have some problems and they get fixed in the 2016 model, but the 2017 model is the “unicorn”

Unfortunately, I am sticking to a budget of under $10k. My commute would be about 200-300 miles a week, and I live in NorCal, so there is not much bad weather beyond rain here.

Any advice or help is appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. bettergolf

bettergolf Active Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I would pass on a 10 year old Prius with 200k unless it was almost free. Too many expensive repairs ahead possible and not just any shop can work on them. The worst years were 2010 through 2014, the 15 is better, 16 and newer even better.
    Good luck with your decision.

R357 likes this.
  3. R357

R357 New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I was thinking something along your lines too about the age of the car, but was trying to stay within a $10k budget. Found a 2017 Prius Prime going for $17,500. This is almost double the price, but I’d feel much more confident getting a 5 year old car. See attached and lmk what you think!

Attached Files:

4. bettergolf

bettergolf Active Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two