1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help me with my commute

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by hubmacfan, Jun 6, 2013.

1. hubmacfan

hubmacfan Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    First, I'm relatively new with my 2011 Prius, only having it for 10 days as of this writing, so I'm sure my technique will improve a little. During that time, I've been averaging about 53.6 mpg, but I feel as if I can do better. I've set 54 mpg as this "magic number" that I'm aspiring to, but if I ever reach that, the number will probably rise to 55 and so on ... (As an aside, if I just set the cruise control while on the commute I'm about to describe, I get the same mileage as I do when I'm working on hypermiling, so I don't know if it's worth the effort with this route). Please help me improve my numbers

My daily commute is around 15 miles. About half of this is a hilly and curvy road. The PSL on that portion is 55 mph, and it is a two-lane (one lane in each direction) road. At least one of the hills are so steep that if I DWL, I'll lose between 15 to 20 mph from the bottom to the top; that's with the HSI "pegged" right before the power section of the line. I can maintain speed, or at least lose less, if I go into the power area. Additionally, there are several curves at the bottom of the hills where I must brake down to around 40 mph to safely negotiate the curve.

Finally, it is well-trafficked road as well, so, while observing the speed limit, I may have 10 cars piled up behind me, which makes me nervous.

One last thing. I know a/c hurts my mpg, but this is south mississippi, where the humidity is so high that you even need a/c in winter, so it's going to be on if I'm in the car. (Heat index today is 110).

Wiggy Greacen likes this.
  2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A