1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help! My son keeps having the warning "!" light c

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Greenie, Jul 30, 2005.

1. Greenie

Greenie New Member

2. IsrAmeriPrius

IsrAmeriPrius Progressive Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Details please.

3. Greenie

Greenie New Member

I'm new at this; just looking for some advice. Toyota dealership had this past week told us that THEY had been told by the manufacturer that an owner should just turn off the car for 5 or 10 mins and then re-start it when the warning light comes on if there;s no indication of why. My son is far from home and travelling back and didn't know whether he would wreck our Prius by driving it with the warning light on. Any ideas? Does this happen to others?? We have a new Prius as well but it only happened when I ran out of gas.....

4. IsrAmeriPrius

IsrAmeriPrius Progressive Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Can you expand on the circumstances under which he is experiencing the warning lights. How long has the car been on, is it in city driving, highway driving, stop and go traffic? What other warning lights go on? What is the message on the MFD?

It is true that the trouble warning lights will be reset when the car is turned on and off a few times, but that does not explain the cause of the warning signal.

Has he taken the car to the dealer? Did they look up the trouble codes which are stored in the car's computers?

There have been numerous discussions of such incidents, but it is hard to steer you toward possible solutions without knowing the particulars.

5. Gen2

Gen2 Member