1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help please-my 2014 Prius has a failed cylinder one with antifreeze in it. What do I do?

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Will Sie, Oct 11, 2018.

1. Will Sie

Will Sie New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Hello all. I’m new to this. Sending this post because my mechanic said there is antifreeze in cylinder 1 and clearly something has gone majorly wrong? I didn’t have any warning lights pop up either? That being said where can I bring this 2014 Prius V for repair in Chicago and what are my options? I live 45 mins north of City but will drop car off or tow anywhere in Chicago or Milwaukee. Aside from this it has been a great little car with 165k miles? Didn’t expect this out of a Toyota this early I must tell you.
    Thanks and am in need of a mechanic bigtime
    Will

2. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    My guess is a bad head gasket. Find a good local shop for options including replacing the head gasket (and a lot of other parts and labor to get to it) or simply replace the whole engine with a used one. Either way probably $2k or more.

Mechanics Files | Car Talk

3. davecook89t

davecook89t Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Does your mechanic have an opinion as to what caused this? I guess you are out of the warranty period now, but if (as seems likely) it was caused by having a clogged EGR system, you might be able to get some help from Toyota, given that they have acknowledged the design of the EGR system on the early Gen 3 cars was poor.

Check to see if this applies in your case:

warranty enhancement; P0401 EGR Valve | PriusChat

bisco likes this.
  4. ETC(SS)

ETC(SS) The OTHER One Percenter.....

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A