Help please - removing fuel pump without special spanner wrench thingy

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Rrrolfff, Sep 24, 2021.

  1. Rrrolfff

    Rrrolfff Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    20
    7
    0
    Location:
    Irvine
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    My fuel pump needs to be replaced. I am having a hard time removing the fuel pump assembly - I read the threads, is there a tool at home Depot (etc) - do I just take a hammer n screw driver to the edge n wack away? Any help is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Georgina Rudkus

    Georgina Rudkus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    2,073
    1,474
    0
    Location:
    Taylors, SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Not available at Home Depot.

    You need one of these.

     
    jzchen, Raytheeagle and Grit like this.
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    7,180
    2,723
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Edit:

    Looks like the proper tool for the job has been linked above. :)

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    jzchen likes this.
  4. Georgina Rudkus

    Georgina Rudkus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    2,073
    1,474
    0
    Location:
    Taylors, SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    It won't work. It's a plastic lock ring about 6 inches in diameter. I believe it POM (polyoxymethylene) which has trade names of Delrin (USA PuPont) and Duracon (Japan). Using a screwdriver and wacking away will likely crack it.

    Check out this YouTube video.

     
    #4 Georgina Rudkus, Sep 24, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2021
    jzchen likes this.
  5. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,249
    10,610
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The real deal looks like this:

    ring.png

    A local auto parts place might have a suitable tool that you can rent or borrow (or pay a deposit on, use, and bring back to the store for your deposit).
     
    jzchen likes this.
  6. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,624
    805
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    @ChapmanF I'd like your post but I can't for the life of me read the numbers. (Thanks for trying).
     
  7. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,249
    10,610
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I posted mostly for the drawing of what the appropriate tool looks like. Most people probably won't be that interested in the official Toyota tool numbers, because most people won't be that interested in the official Toyota tool prices.

    But the numbers in the image don't seem hard to read for me. Did you view the image at full size?

    09808-14020, using the pieces 09808-01410, -01420, and -01430, for anybody with cash burning holes in their pockets.
     
    jzchen likes this.
  8. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Many auto supplies have tools you can borrow with a refundable deposit.
     
    Limey Geoff and jzchen like this.
  9. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    46,041
    32,878
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Hey Georgina, for me at least, those Amazon links are always blank space. I could maybe set some exclusions on my ad block (nearly necessity on this site), but it’s a struggle. I find posting a screen-shot image a simple work-around.
     
    #9 Mendel Leisk, Sep 25, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2021
    StarCaller likes this.
  10. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,624
    805
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    TapaTalk? Tap upper right corner of screen and select "web view". Then pick (one of) your web browser(s) to open. Link should be proper on the web view.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  11. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    46,041
    32,878
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    iPhone with Safari. Same issue on win10 pc with Firefox. In both cases an ad block running.
     
  12. jzchen

    jzchen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    2,624
    805
    0
    Location:
    Arcadia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Probably better than my Android 10 on a moto G7 power. My wife was showing how her niece in the Philippines made a video for school to "create a magic carpet". In the video she notes how she hopes to come here to the USA. My wife noted if she comes I could have a "free baby". This morning I open my Amazon app and deal of the day is a baby crib! (My phone is spying on me).

    Ordered a REVVL V+ 5G (Android 11) at T-Mobile yesterday. Hope it finally stops someone from stealing my CC info! Last security patch for Android 10 dated Feb 1 2021. For Android 11 the demo showed June '21 (I forget the exact date). Androids don't get continual OS updates like iPhones. (Have you downloaded iOS 15.0)?

    EDIT- Sorry OP for sidetracking your thread!
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  13. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Maybe its your Canadian passport and a US link. Does this Canadian link work?



    The link is a xtool d7 scanner the youtube Car Car Nut Toyota dealer mechanic recommends as close to Techstream for $469 US.

    Canadian price
    5F0045E6-3BB0-43AE-8324-54996047F3DE.jpeg



    US price in thumbnail
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    46,041
    32,878
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Nope, still blank.

    And again, I'm sure it's my ad blocker. I just don't care to mess with it. With one ad blocker I had before, it was pretty easy to create exceptions; current one not so much. As mentioned above, guess we're all off-topic. I was gonna pm but it seems to be disabled? Due to pop-up ads, lol?

    Addendum: I told my ad blocker (currently Ghostery, running in FireFox browser, on Win10 pc) to trust amazon.com and amazon.ca, but amazon ads STILL don't display on Priuschat. Seem to recall Priuschat itself had a hand in that?
     
    Grit likes this.
  15. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,249
    10,610
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I'm not using anything billed as an ad blocker, just a generic JavaScript blocker. Which does generally have the side effect of cutting down on ads, given that most ads want to use JavaScript to behave more obnoxiously than they could in straight HTML.

    It's not because I'm against ads per se, just that leaving my computer open to run j. rando third party internet site's JavaScript code is pretty much a hard no for me.

    And as a result, the way a lot of people post amazon links on PriusChat will just always look like about 3 inches of blank space to me. I've made my peace with that. I see 3 inches of blank space in a post and think "I bet that's an amazon link."

    It ought to be easy to just add ordinary links, the kind people can just look at and click if they want. That should work for pretty much everybody.
     
  16. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    5,302
    3,740
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Same, I use a 3rd party browser and it blocks ads and amazon links. It’s intrusive when you view an Item on a website and that item follows you as an ad banner from website to website (n)
     
  17. burrito

    burrito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2021
    272
    105
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    This site uses BB Code. Embedded links are coded with tags like this:
    Code:
    [URL="https://priuschat.com/find-new/posts"]New Posts[/URL]
    Links to YouTube videos get automatically changed to something like this:
    Code:
    [MEDIA=youtube]IamADzLoE6I[/MEDIA]
    Links to any product on Amazon get automatically changed to this:
    Code:
    [MEDIA=Amazon]B008BHP68A[/MEDIA]
    Notice that links to Amazon are considered a form a media, and are not handled the way other generic links are. One advantage to the hosting site is that any links to any product on Amazon.com can automatically get a referral link embedded into them. If you end up buying something (anything, not necessarily the linked listing), the hosting site gets a referral fee. For the rest of us, it commonly gets blocked, as ad blockers treat it like an ad.
     
  18. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,249
    10,610
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    testing, testing

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01I497JAM

    Looks like if you make it a link yourself, it does what you say, or if you make it [plain], it's left alone.
     
    #18 ChapmanF, Sep 27, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2021
  19. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sand Pounder

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    46,041
    32,878
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    lessee

    Above works, but does a redirect: I linked US Amazon site, but when I click it it takes me to CDN site (which has same product, albeit higher priced).

    Hey, should we fugedabout this? Or is OP gone, it's a free for all?
     
Loading...