1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help! - rebuilt HV battery, no voltage out

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by LKasdorf, Jan 21, 2020.

1. LKasdorf

LKasdorf Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    This is my first time rebuilding a prius battery pack. I get 217v between the anode and cathode of the pack, as I should. However, these large cables from the pack go through black plastic terminal blocks (fuses? relays?) before connecting to the car. I get 0v across these terminals that the car connects to.

What are these devices that the 2 large cables connect to on the output of the HJV battery?

All of the dash lights are on, including red triangle. I've connected Dr Prius and Hybrid assistant apps and have seen the graph of battery voltages. It is showing #12 quite low, even though a voltmeter check of the cells doesn't show one being low. I've installed it without the cover, so I can check the cells.

I'm sure the answer to this is out there and is very basic, and I'm looking.

#1 LKasdorf, Jan 21, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2020
  2. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Those are the two main relays that will close to apply HV to the inverter. They won't close until you press the power button with your foot on the brake.

If you tried that, and it didn't work, then you most likely did not fully install the safety interlock plug on the battery. There are three (3) steps.
    1. Insert plug into the socket. This alone will put full voltage at the battery side of the relays.
    2. Rotate the handle upward toward the 12 oclock position