1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help with diagnostic

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Prius Plz, May 14, 2017.

1. Prius Plz

Prius Plz New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    this is my first time using this forum.

So yesterday I went to get an oil change. They also did an alignment check because one of the tires was wearing a little funny.

Anyhow after I left I had 3 lights pop up, Check Engine/Red Triangle/ and (!) which is breaks I believe probably ABS. Also my car will not display any of the hybrid technology on the screen it just has a car symbol with a line through it.

I thought it was just that my 12v battery had finally given out. It has been having trouble staying charged overnight so I exchanged it and installed my new one but the errors did not go away. I had them reset the errors at the auto store but they came back on shortly after driving and still no display on the screen.

I believe when they did the alignment check and hooking up those sensors to my tires they may have damaged the wheel speed sensor and or the wiring for it. What do you think the likelihood of this being the cause?

I have a new job and need to travel 400 miles for training tomorrow how dangerous would it be for me to operate this vehicle?

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    What's the year and mileage of your car? Can you get the codes read?

Is there too much oil in the car? That always can cause problems if it was overfilled

Raytheeagle likes this.
  3. Prius Plz

Prius Plz New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I checked the dip stick and it did not appear to be overfilled.

The car has 176,000 miles on it. I had the codes read before I replaced the 12v battery and they were giving me:

P3017 battery block 7 becomes weak.
    P0A80 Replace Hybrid battery pack