1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help with mysterious prius issue

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by primer950, May 24, 2023.

1. primer950

primer950 New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hi all. It is my first time posting here in search of some ones experience or knowledge that can help my own. I have a 2009 Prius with 226,000 and was running great the past 6 years since I bought it and has finally hit me with a problem I can't pinpoint. I am getting moments of rough engine running and it is starting to throw p0420 at the same time it is running rough. Now before you tell me I have a cat issue please read all. I am not getting any misfire codes, however, I am using Torque pro to see the misfire counts in the cylinders. I get intermittent random misfires in every cylinder. Happens random too. I have replaced all spark plugs, coils, cleaned MAF sensor, cleaned PCV valve, cleaned air filter, cleaned throttle body and intake plate. I know its not normal Prius rough idles in the mornings because I can see a noticeable difference since owning this car, there is clearly something going on. My only other option is fuel injectors which I ordered and am waiting for in the mail. It's just odd that I would get misfires in different cylinders at different times. Not sure where to go from here. The car is still drivable and the misfires don't seem to be affecting the car much. I just want to know somehow if there is a way to check the fuel injectors or just wouldn't hurt to replace them. Thanks

2. primer950

primer950 New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I just had the 12v battery checked at O riley and the machine sid it was bad, so ill go change it tomarrow and see if it fixes it.

3. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base