1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Help with speakers not working. Amp location?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by munsoned, Mar 7, 2016.

1. munsoned

munsoned Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi all,

I've gained so much valuable info from this forum, ever since purchasing my prius a couple of years ago... It's my first time really needing help, so any at all is appreciated!!!

2012 Prius, Nav non jbl.... My speakers stopped working the other day, everything appears normal, volume controls, checked whatever associated fuses I could think of from the wiring diagrams.

My next step would be to find the Amplifier, possibly change it, or check the connectors, but I can't find it. Anybody know where it's located?

2. Rebound

Rebound Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    There's a great sticky thread here that explains how to remove the head unit, replace the speakers, etc.

2010 Toyota Prius model II Head Unit Upgrade | PriusChat

My car is a 2012 Prius Plug-in Base, which has the same audio system as yours. In your car, there is no external amp. The amplifier is in the head unit. I think you've blown a fuse, either inside the head unit itself, or in your car's fusebox. There are two fuseboxes. One is near the parking brake, and one is inside the engine compartment.

In the engine compartment, there's a 30A fuse at location 10, and another at location 27. I just went downstairs and pulled both of these fuses, and the audio still plays. So this leads me to believe that hte fuses are there for the higher-end modes which have external amplifiers. There is also fuse location 34, which I haven't tested yet. And in the panel near the parking brake, location 29 also powers the audio system, but I doubt this is blown because it powers many other things such as the glove box light and the clock.