Hey kids! New acquisition.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Ianmeister, Sep 16, 2020.

  1. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    im putting in an oil catch can first. Should be here tomorrow.
     
    mikey_t, Mendel Leisk and SFO like this.
  2. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Wow. What a journey this has been. All that’s left is WS transmission fluid (waiting shipment) oil catch can and I can put the manifold back in. Other than that I think I have every hose and sensor hooked back up. Now everyone light some incense and have a chant to the timing chain gods with me! 12692F3E-EA7D-49FD-9475-E5774611E79D.jpeg
     
  3. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    2,703
    1,721
    0
    Location:
    Indian River County, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I might have missed it, but did you rotate the crank 70 degrees and check to make sure
    all the marks lined up?

     
  4. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    40,894
    29,355
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    720 degrees?

    Basically two revolutions? Of the crankshaft?

    The tensioner gizmo is doing its thing?
     
    Ianmeister likes this.
  5. The Critic

    The Critic Resident Critic

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    3,088
    2,153
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Might want to crank the engine using Techstream to prime the oiling system before doing your first start.
     
    Raytheeagle and SFO like this.
  6. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    2,703
    1,721
    0
    Location:
    Indian River County, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    360 = 1 revolution
    360 X 2 = 720

    4 stroke engine, needs 2 rotations to get back to TDC for #1, intake stroke.

     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  7. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Yes
     
    ASRDogman likes this.
  8. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I don't have techstream. I'll look into it.
     
    Raytheeagle and SFO like this.
  9. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    2,703
    1,721
    0
    Location:
    Indian River County, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I just caught my error! Typed "70" instead of "720".
    A mind is a terrible thing to waste...

     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  10. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Aaaarg! I got it all back together and the screen says “check hybrid system” and the code reads P3191. What does it mean?? When it starts it runs smooth for a minute. I did clean out the. Throttle body with carb cleaner.
     
    #110 Ianmeister, Oct 11, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2020
  11. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    40,894
    29,355
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
  12. ttou68

    ttou68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    180
    126
    0
    Location:
    40509
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  13. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Oh sorry. I was frazzled. I cleaned the throttle body during reassembly. Now it gives me the result I posted above. I keep reading that improper cleaning may be bad for it? I’m not sure. It seems that MFS seems to be the most likely culprit. I HATE when a car has a particular code that could mean any of 10 different problems that range from $20 and 5 minutes all the way to another tear down!! Grrrrr!
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  14. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    2,703
    1,721
    0
    Location:
    Indian River County, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Did you use the carb cleaner on the MAP? Or MAF??? That's a big no no. :)
    They have cleaner for that.
     
    #114 ASRDogman, Oct 11, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2020
  15. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    40,894
    29,355
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    What's MAS? Did you mean MAP (Manifold Absolute Pressure)? That sensor's below throttle body, around 3 o'clock. It looks relatively bullet proof, but who knows; wouldn't hurt to use MAF (Mass Air Flow) sensor cleaning.
     
    ASRDogman likes this.
  16. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    2,703
    1,721
    0
    Location:
    Indian River County, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yea, the sensors on the intake manifold thingamabob...
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  17. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    no. I think I figured it out though. See below.
     
  18. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Well kids. I think I found it.... will a gen2 blade work??? 44ACBF28-A818-4D1F-A0B3-DAFFED98E81F.jpeg
     
  19. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    2,703
    1,721
    0
    Location:
    Indian River County, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Looks like you have one a little low, and one a little high.
    Seems like that is kinda normal. :)

    Does the car run? You said it funs fine for a minute. Do you shut it down???
    Are you able to clear the codes with techsctream? Seems you need to drive it to charge
    up the battery.
     
  20. Ianmeister

    Ianmeister Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    234
    287
    0
    Location:
    Meridian Idaho
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    If i clear the engine code with torquepro It starts and run smooth for about 15 seconds. Then shuts down and says check hybrid system
     
Loading...