1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Homemade Chassis Brace

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by Aaron Vitolins, Mar 1, 2014.

1. Aaron Vitolins

Aaron Vitolins Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Newbie here! So yesterday i was reading about the wonders that a rear chassis brace can do for the Prius. So i was like "what the heck, i'll just make one my self.. who wants to pay $50 and then have to wait around for shipping?" So i went to Lowe's and bought a 3 foot section of steal, some new washers, and 4 new bolts. I only needed about 1 foot of metal, but thats all they had had, so i had to pay $20!! but hey still better than $50! How to: Used a band saw for cutting to proper length, then used cordless drill to drill the 4 news holes. Bam you're done! Really noticed a difference in highway steadiness, love it! Will try to upload a picture later, this Mac is being a stupid.

New vs. Old

Attached Files:

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome to priuschat. congrats, you make that sound so easy! what is a bandsaw?o_O

3. xpcman

xpcman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    But aluminum would have saved you 6 maybe 7 ounces!

4. Jason in OZ

Jason in OZ Active Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    this is a bandsaw.

[​IMG]

nice job by the way. :)

Jason

5. Aaron Vitolins

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks guys! It was refreshingly easy after me and my dad took out a Lexus rx300 engine yesterday! I highly recommend replacing that stock chassis brace, especially I you do highway driving. Honestly I'm a little disappointed by Toyota... It's such a cheep flimsy part

6. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    thanks jason, i didn't know you could cut steel with those things.

7. Mike500