1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

hoping for some advice...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by KevinW, Nov 3, 2018.

1. KevinW

KevinW New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hi all,

I’m totally new to hybrids and electric vehicles but since I just started a job with a 130-mile daily round-trip commute (65 each way), I’m looking to find a vehicle with better fuel economy than my current 20mpg.

All of the different Prius models are confusing to me, but after reading up it looks like the 2007 Prius is the most fuel-efficient model I could find. I found one for $9999 with 60K miles on it. Am I crazy to purchase a car this old? I have no understanding about how battery life might deteriorate in a car like this, and how expensive it might be to fix/replace.

Any suggestions would be welcomed. I’m hoping to spend <16K here and am really feeling in over my head.

Thanks!

Kevin

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    (y)(y):sneaky:(y)(y)Welcome!

All Prius get similar mpg, so toss that out the window

Before purchasing, do the calculation over your 20 mpg to see how much you save a year

A 2007 Prius is likely to need a $3,000. Battery sooner than later.

There are a few other very expensive systems over a gasser that could go at any point, and hybrid mechanics are few and far between, so you often wind up at an expensive dealer, unless you can diy.

All the best!(y)

05PreeUs, Skibob and Raytheeagle like this.
  3. KevinW

KevinW New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hey thanks for your reply! And for the welcome!

ISo I guess I won't stick to the 2007 idea. One thing of note is that my new job has free 6.6kW charging, so does that make a plug-in hybrid Prius a smart bet? I'm not sure if the plug-in aspect makes a big difference or if it adds more potential repairs down the road...