How and where to get Techstream

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Prius717, Oct 28, 2020.

  1. Prius717

    Prius717 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    41
    8
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster County PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I would like to buy Techstream to use on my Toyota's. Can someone please tell me where can I purchase a reliable one that I can use with my Windows 10 laptop? Also which version I should buy?

    One of the features that I am looking for is to be able to read the Transmission temperature.
     
    #1 Prius717, Oct 28, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
  2. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,746
    4,027
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Mini VCI on Amazon.

    Be aware the hacked program is malware ridden and should not be used on a Laptop that should be secure.
    In fact you have to turn off all the anti malware on board or the program won’t even install.
    Use a burner laptop.

    Usethe search forum feature up top and search

    Techstream

    for more info.
     
    Prius717 likes this.
  3. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    4,939
    1,955
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
  4. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,746
    4,027
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have a VXDIAG. Works good.

    VXDIAG.com Toyota TIS $89. Its all in the obd plug that then usb's into your laptop. Full of malware so requires a burner laptop. XP is the best I have found. Lots of burners on Craigs List.

    They also offer a wifi version but never tried that.

    I see there's lot of already installed VXDIAGS including the latops some with Dell's some with Toughbooks on eBay. Around $599. ready to go.
    Just search Techstream on eBay.
     
    PriusCamper likes this.
  5. Prius717

    Prius717 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    41
    8
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster County PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    What's the
    VXDIAG.COM - web site isn't working. So VXDIAG offers more features over VCI?
     
  6. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,746
    4,027
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Sorry its the link below theirs a shop on the en.

    Click on the link below and click on nano on the left there will be multiple choices you want Toyota Techstream V15

    VXdiagShop Official Selling Website

    Your welcome
     
    Prius717 likes this.
  7. Prius717

    Prius717 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    41
    8
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster County PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I found vxdiag on amazon but the reviews don't look that great:


    Nice thing about amazon is free returns if it doesn't work.

    Would this work on Windows 10 latop?
     
  8. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    4,939
    1,955
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Some say it works better for programming FOBS.... They also say it's more durable if you plan on using it on lots of cars often. Less problematic in terms of dying too.

    As for bad reviews, this isn't a consumer-type product where you're going to get a sense of how good it is from reviews, especially because installing the hacked software is challenging.
     
    #8 PriusCamper, Oct 28, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
    edthefox5 likes this.
  9. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    8,746
    4,027
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Work on a win 10?

    That Implies it’s a nice laptop. You have to dedicate a laptop for this application since its bug ridden you understand that right?
     
  10. Prius717

    Prius717 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    41
    8
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster County PA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Correct. I would buy a cheap laptop from CL or OfferUp, it looks like most of them are WIN 10 and many of them are fairly cheap (around $100-$150 for cheaper ones). I just want to make sure I buy one that will work fine with Techstream.
     
    #10 Prius717, Oct 29, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2020
  11. alftoy

    alftoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    76
    31
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Upgrade
    I have Techstream V15.10.029 on my laptop with Win10, Oct 2020 update, does not require XP.

    I acquired MiniVCI cable off ebay last fall from a UK seller, he also tweaked my V14 Techstream install via TeamViewer. UK seller not selling at the moment. Not sure where to suggest for a cable.

    I just downloaded the latest Techstream V15.10.029. Search "AutoKent Techstream" Activation keys also available from Autokent forums. The AutoKent Techstreams are not malware or bug ridden. The drivers for the MiniVCI cable are what will generate a false positive from Antivirus.
     
  12. alftoy

    alftoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    76
    31
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Upgrade
    search autokent techstream

    MiniVCI cable for $14.99 at blog uobdii

    then download from mhhauto
     
Loading...