How do I update my navigation?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Sal43, May 24, 2018.

  1. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,167
    10,026
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    No, but at least the Great OsmAnd Blowup was not the final straw, just a curious waypoint along the way....

    -Chap
     
  2. t_newt

    t_newt Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    181
    215
    0
    Location:
    94087
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I use an app called HERE WE GO, which is also free, and has maps for every state, and just about every country.

    In fact, the company HERE is part of Navteq, the same company that supplies maps to Toyota (and many other car companies). I'm not sure if Toyota uses them for all its cars.

    I use it as my backup in case I need GPS and am out of cell-phone range. Just don't forget to download your maps (I won't tell you how I know to tell you this).
     
  3. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    42,664
    14,149
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    The Prime uses HERE maps for the integrated nav.
     
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,167
    10,026
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The phone ecosystem is crawling with "free" apps, via all kinds of shenanigans. The thing that appealed to me specifically about OsmAnd~ is that it was open-source (I obtained it via f-droid). Is HERE WE GO open-source?

    -Chap
     
  5. Black Prius

    Black Prius Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    15
    2
    0
    Location:
    Kołobrzeg, Poland
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Navigations with cd / dvd drive update via boards is a memory card so i update by replacing the card.
     
  6. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    9,940
    12,205
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Go to the App store and get maps.me. Then download all the maps you want. Works great for me when I go to Africa. I imagine it's in the Google Play Store as well. No need for a signal, it's free, and it's constantly updated.
     
    Bay Stater and MelonPrius like this.
  7. Waterhouse

    Waterhouse Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    8
    2
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Well the 2018 release DVD is available from Toyota for $169. But there are a bunch of guys on ebay selling the 2017 version for $11 - $17. Good enough for me.
     
  8. maurices

    maurices Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    128
    37
    0
    Location:
    Sartell, Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Just called my local (St)dealer. $400 to update my 2013, no thanks.
     
  9. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    9,940
    12,205
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Hmmmm. My Garmin updates are free. As are my Google maps, Maps.me, and Apple maps. And I don't have to take my eyes so far away from the road.
     
    Bay Stater likes this.
  10. bobzchemist

    bobzchemist Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    507
    341
    0
    Location:
    Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I always stay a year behind. The folks who update every year sell their previous year's DVD (which are otherwise useless) for a huge discount.
     
    Bay Stater likes this.
  11. dMf

    dMf Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Until you don't have a cell signal. Ever heard of West Virginia?
     
  12. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    9,940
    12,205
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Garmin doesn't use cellular. That the biggest reason I favor it. West Virginia is nuthin' compared to the hundreds of miles in AZ without cellular. Garmin just keeps on scrolling along. (y)
     
    Grit likes this.
  13. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    935
    854
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    GPS (Global Positioning System) units use satellites not cell towers for triangulation.
     
  14. PcarEnthusiast

    PcarEnthusiast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    1
    4
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    For those of you turning up your nose at the Nav system, don’t be so hasty.
    Twice in the past few years the Nav system has been able to guide us out of remote locations where three different iPhones were unable to even find us.
    The first time we’re were just coming off a five day backpack trip in the mountains of Wyoming; it was pitch dark and we could barely see the road. iPhones for whatever reason couldn’t figure out where the road was so we switched on the Prius system and it got us to our hotel with no wrong turns. The second time was very similar but in the mountains of Colorado.
     
  15. NutzAboutBolts

    NutzAboutBolts Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    1,478
    1,524
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I will be editing the overview of what the dealership do to update your Nav map soon. (y)
     
    jerrymildred and ETC(SS) like this.
  16. ETC(SS)

    ETC(SS) The OTHER One Percenter.....

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    7,130
    5,832
    0
    Location:
    Redneck Riviera (Gulf South)
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    TL;DR
    Google Maps.
    Download areas and navigate offline - Android - Google Maps Help


    OK.
    Maneuvering answers: ALL STOP.

    Now that we've pulled the thread over, let's explore the possibility that cell phones might just have a GPS receiver in them.
    I'm pretty sure that I read that somewhere when I bought my last phone.
    As a matter of fact....if you have a phone that's been manufactured in the last few years it probably also has a GLONASS receiver as well, and fairly soon will probably also incorporate Galileo and BeiDou systems.
    I'll leave the BeiDou/virus joke there on the sidewalk if somebody wants to pick it up and run with it. ;)

    So....
    This isn't a HARDWARE issue, but rather a SOFTWARE/GREED issue....AND as it turns out SOME mapping software lets you store maps on your preferred digital device for off-line use which is handy whether you're in a concrete canyon in Manhattan or someplace in Tennessee where they have to pipe in sunlight.
    If you want to pay for the convenience of being able to use mapping data off-line - there's nothing at all wrong with that.
    Where it starts to be SOMETHING wrong with that is when your satellite nav system has nagware built into it prompting you to buy new maps every time you power up your car, and when they shank you for several hundred dollars every few years.
    I'm not sure if Toyota still does this does this, because I'm fairly sure that my beloved company will probably never buy another Toyota product again, and if they did it wouldn't be up-optioned enough to have a NAV unit.
    My company car is 10 years old.

    One of the things I love about my PERSONAL car is that it's future-resistant.
    I can use Android or IOS (I have both) and thus far using Apple Car play seems to work well for me since my beloved company digs the Apples.

    My current turf covers a third of a state, and I have maps stored for all of it - and I've had to USE those maps because as it turns out....SOMETIMES when you work in telecommunications you have to fix broken cell towers. ;)
     
  17. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,167
    10,026
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Well, one bit of it that is hardware is that the car's system has the wheel speed, steering angle, and gyro inputs, allowing it to dead-reckon to some degree during dropouts of GPS reception.

    Another bit that's hardware is that it's just right there in the dash where I want to see it without fussing with my phone or a phone mount. Granted, the Android Auto sorts of integrations can help with that.

    I wonder if they can make the car's sensor info available to the phone for dead reckoning?

    I think phones do typically contain gyros, but I'm not sure how useful they are for nav, unless the phone is going to be in a fixed mount and there's a calibration step.
     
Loading...