1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How to align hood?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by PollyWannaPrius, Sep 17, 2019.

1. PollyWannaPrius

PollyWannaPrius New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I’ve been working on cars on and off for like 10 years but I seem to be completely stumped as to how to adjust the hood, as it sits now the hood is touching the headlight on the driver side and there’s about a half inch gap in between the headlight and the hood on the passenger side. I tore into it and loosened the mounting bolts for the hinges but they don’t seem to have the normal elongated holes in the hinge that allow for adjustments to be made.

anyone have any hints for a new prius owner as to how to go about aligning this hood?

2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    With all that experience I'm hesitant to help because you've probably gone through the usual, but just in case: To start, have you gone through headlight adjustment of shining lights on a wall at 20 feet and measuring height of beam to specs and adjusting?

Once past that, is hood resting on rubber stoppers as designed and are all rubber stoppers in place?

Lastly, is it possible when the hood was being held up by it's kickstand that a downward force twisted the hood and can fixed by twisting it back? Once you reply to these I'll try out some more crazier ideas, but let's get through the easy ones first.

PollyWannaPrius likes this.
  3. Elektroingenieur

Elektroingenieur Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring