1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How to disable the ABS high pitch alarm? 2002 Prius

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Sunshinedropz, Jul 30, 2018.

1. Sunshinedropz

Sunshinedropz New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    So I’ve researched this topic and found some other people with this problem. The problem is code (C1251 Pump Motor Seized) it needs new hydraulic brake booster which are not cheap. Unless I pick the part and install it myself (but I’m not a mechanic) The cost to repair at a shop is worth more than the car.

Other than the high pitched audible alarm the car feels like it brakes just fine. I’m able to get the noise to stay off if I pump the brakes till they are hard with the car off and then start it. It’s a temporary fix but it works. The abs light and noise eventually come back on and the car isn’t worth repairing at over 200k.

My question is where is this audible alarm located and is there a way to disable it other than fixing issue?

Perhaps a fuse I could pull or a wire to disable?

Thank you all for your time and knowledge regarding on this issue it is much appreciated

2. Brian in Tucson

Brian in Tucson Active Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    #2 Brian in Tucson, Jul 30, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2018
  3. Sunshinedropz

Sunshinedropz New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Is a Power Brake booster and a Hydraulic Brake booster the same thing? I see lots of used ones but some say brake pump accumulator/actuator?

If I do fix it I wanna get the right part...

4. Sunshinedropz

Sunshinedropz New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I

This is the noise it makes...

5. Brian in Tucson

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Oh and I think 3prongpaul is in denver and could install it for you.

6. Brian in Tucson

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    N/A