1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

How to "DIY" Check "Everything" on Vehicle?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Destiny N., Aug 1, 2018.

1. Destiny N.

Destiny N. Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So, I've had my 2005 Prius (~164,000 miles now) since September 2017, and all I have been doing is the routine oil changes (changing filter every time as well), and this fall I am going to get new tires. Also replaced passenger side brake light. Well, I am not a car expert but I am totally willing to learn.
    But anyways, what are some maintenance things (literally everything and anything you can think of) that I can check myself, perhaps even fix/replace if needed so I am not spending big bucks at a shop? (YouTube tutorials would be very much appreciated!)
    And, what are the things that I should take it to a shop to have looked at?

(I called my local Toyota dealer and they quoted $200+ for spark plugs that I guess are a tune-up, but then another $60+ for an oil change, and only then would they begin to just "check" things)
    Thanks in advance!

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
  3. Elektroingenieur

Elektroingenieur Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    If you haven’t already read Sections 7 and 8 of the Owner’s Manual (PDF), pages 271 and following, I’d suggest starting there. There is a list of basic checks on pages 273–275, and some important warnings on pages 280–281. Next, review the Scheduled Maintenance Guide (PDF) from Toyota. Your car has more than the 120,000 miles covered by the Maintenance Log (pages 4–19), but you can still use it to determine the intervals for each item described under Explanation of Maintenance Items (pages 20-22).