How To Install the VAIS AIC-100i iPod Adapter

Discussion in 'Knowledge Base Articles Discussion' started by hybrideyes, Nov 5, 2005.

  1. hybrideyes

    hybrideyes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    123
    0
    0
    My earlier post was lost during a PriusChat crash, so I'll come back later and try to remember what else I said here before. At any rate, below is my installation guide for the VAIS AIC-100i iPod adapter.

    [File replaced on 12-23-06 because it seems to have disappeared before. Download count was 1,274.]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bookrats

    bookrats New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    2,843
    2
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Thanks again, hybrideyes, for putting this together, and posting it. It is invaluable to anyone who purchased one of these units.

    I installed the VAIS AIC-100i thanks to this guide, folks. That means that if you have a trained monkey in the household, he or she can do it as well!
     
  3. tideland_raj

    tideland_raj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    108
    0
    0
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    One of the best installation manuals ever. Nicely summarizes all the tips and tricks that you and the community have collected in a beautiful and funny pdf :)
     
  4. jimofdg

    jimofdg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    533
    0
    0
    Location:
    DG, IL, US
    It worked perfectly for me. Ordered in the 2nd group buy from Eugene on Nov. 9 and installed on the 18th. The box fits in the slot where I had been keeping the manuals for the Prius.

    If your iPod is white (very likely), you may notice black lint on it from the lining of the glove compartment. I vacuumed it before installing, but some powder remains. I mention it in case you want to really wipe out that compartment while you have it detached.

    Also, I did this installation after Toyota did their ECM reprogramming (SSC 50P)and the Nav DVD update. The 50P letter came the same day as the AIC-100i, so great timing there.

    Hi to all. I've been busy with lots more to do at work, and little time to read PriusChat. Hope the new calendar goes well. (I haven't read the recent posts yet.)
     
  5. sariantekara

    sariantekara New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    4
    0
    0
    hello all *slams head into desk in frustration*ok now that i have the spas out of my sytem ive searched every where i can to find info about using the avic 100i in a 2001 prius and so far it seems as if us classic prius drivers are out of luck any clue ??
     
  6. DanMan32

    DanMan32 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    3,799
    23
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Since the changer port is available on the classic, there is a good chance it will work on a classic, but no guarantees.
     
  7. Color Theory

    Color Theory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    17
    0
    0
    Has anyone tried this on a 2006?
     
  8. duffetta

    duffetta New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    13
    0
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Can you explain the significance of this comment? Is there some issue with the installation of the 100i before the ECM reprogramming? I was about do to the installation myself in the next week or so, but I haven't had the SSC 50P work done as yet.

    Thanks,

    Mark

    P.S. Although I haven't done the installation yet, the quality of this installation manual has convinced me to do it myself instead of paying someone a bunch of money. Thank you!
     
  9. jimofdg

    jimofdg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    533
    0
    0
    Location:
    DG, IL, US
    No, I just didn't want the Toyota person doing my ECM reprogramming to look around at my modification, harmless though it was.

    I was a little concerned that I wouldn't put things back together right after installing the AIC-100i. There was no problem. I never had to use anything but my hands on the air vent, on or off. Prius looks like new.

    And of course I didn't want a Toyota tech to accidentally damage the iPod interface while working on what they were supposed to be doing. Again, needless worrying.
     
  10. duffetta

    duffetta New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    13
    0
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I did the installation into my '04 this afternoon. Went great. The instructions as provided by hybrideyes worked perfectly. Thank you hybrideyes!

    My unit from Vais is the SoundLinQ Model SLI. While I haven't see the Vais installation manual for the AIC-100i, it appears that there is a difference between the two units. My SLI has 2 switches that program the serial device communication speed between the unit and the iPod. 3G iPods use a slower speed than newer iPods. There are instructions Vais manual for changing the speed on the unit (which I am happy to provide to hybrideyes if he wants to update the manual).

    Can't wait to go back to work in January so that I can drive to and from work and not have to listen to that dribble on the Boston airwaves!

    Now, off to work on my playlists . . .

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
  11. shawn7

    shawn7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    55
    0
    0
    Location:
    Beaufort South Carolina
    This will NOT work on the ipod Shuffle.. Right?


    Thanks,
    Shawn
     
  12. bookrats

    bookrats New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    2,843
    2
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    That is correct. The shuffle does not work with the VAIS unit.
     
  13. Cox

    Cox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    38
    0
    0
    The link to the install pdf does not work - help!!

    Please...
     
  14. aaf709

    aaf709 Ravenpaw of ThunderClan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    3,841
    6
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Cox @ Nov 21 2006, 03:52 PM) [snapback]352780[/snapback]</div>
    Try http://priuschat.com/index.php?act=Attach&...ost&id=5354 I used it to install my DICE, it's a great installation instruction.

    EDIT: 2,800 post! (I know, big woop)
     
  15. Cox

    Cox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    38
    0
    0
    Perfect! Thanks!!
     
  16. hybrideyes

    hybrideyes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    123
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Cox @ Nov 21 2006, 07:52 PM) [snapback]352780[/snapback]</div>

    This board has always been squirrely. I replaced the file at the top of this post, so it should work again now.
     
  17. jcohen919190

    jcohen919190 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(hybrideyes @ Nov 5 2005, 05:41 PM) [snapback]151275[/snapback]</div>
    Any way to get the video iPod to output its video there as well? Does VAIS make such a device? Thanks.
     
  18. Lutzbone

    Lutzbone I play the trombone

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    17
    1
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hybrideyes, just wanted to say that your guide ROCKS! Just used it to install my DICE iPod adapter (purchased from the PriusChat shop) in my 2004 Prius with Nav. Took me about 20 minutes. YOU ARE THE MAN. (or woman, as the case may be) B)

    Lutzbone
     
  19. willc73

    willc73 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    1
    0
    0
    None of the links seem to work for me.
     
  20. Chris Nikirk

    Chris Nikirk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Count me in on the group that used your guide to install. Worked right out of the box . . . I've got text display and all the steering wheel controls work, plus I can still use every iPod control from the iPod. Even better than I expected!
     
Loading...