1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

HV battery Dead on 2006 Prius HELP!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Sherri167, Jun 5, 2012.

1. Sherri167

Sherri167 New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I have done nothing but brag on this car since purchasing it (used) 3 yrs ago. A couple of weeks ago I got the dreaded red triangle, ck engine, etc... We have a code reader and it read HV battery and cell 10 errors. I did research here and learned about the recall on the inverter. Had it trailered to Toyota, who replaced the inverter and said I need a new HV battery (and ECU of course) for a total of $4600.00. 113,000 miles on it so no warranty. I had it hauled back home.

I replaced the 12V battery pack after reading here, and prayed. Nope, still reads the same two error codes.

So here I am. I am still making payments on this car monthly, I am a nursing student and BROKE, school starts back in 5weeks, and I need a dependable vehicle.

I have read here since this happened (was just accepted and able to post this morning). From what I have learned it appears that changing the cells has not worked well. Refurbishing the battery is time consuming and has not been a great option. Although Re-Involt seems to be doing that and people seem to like them. A salvaged battery seems to be my best option. But I cannot find 1 darn person in the Fort Worth Texas area that works on Hybrids, and there isn't a lot I can do with a salvaged 80lb battery sitting on my front porch once delivered.

This experience has sure wiped the Prius owner smirk off my face, and I am eating a lot of crow these days.